We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms with loads of character”
Review of The Marlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marlton Hotel
Ranked #109 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small rooms with loads of character”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A small classy European-style hotel. We've certainly have had hotel rooms that were much larger, but the character (and the location near Washington Square in Greenwich Village) this hotel has was way worth the small rooms. Our room was just large enough for the bed, we kept our suitcase under the bed. The bathroom was a decent size in comparison to the room, there was room to move around and the roomy shower was nice. There was also a closet which contained an iron and ironing board, a safe, refrigerator and snacks. The room contained a nice bonus of robe and slippers to wear while there. Also, we were thankful for the umbrella provided in the room, we did use it. The hallways are narrow, but there was a door between the elevator and the hall which cut down on noise. Being the closest room to the elevator, our room was still very quite. We heard very little hall noise and no outside noise (cars, trucks, sirens etc.). The lobby had a sitting area with couches and chairs where you could get coffee. There was also a bar and very nice restaurant on the ground level. Our room also came with a continental breakfast which was a nice surprise. The door man was helpful in securing a taxi when needed, even if we had to go to 5th Avenue to get it. Everyone was very nice and helpul.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    209
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
60
277
64
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed solo at the Marlton for four nights in July. I enjoyed my stay so much that I will not hesitate to book again for my next trip to New York. Reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I was bracing myself for a squeeze into a tiny room. While the room was certainly New York Compact, I was actually pleasantly surprised by the size and amenity of my south facing room on the fifth floor. Had I not been travelling solo, I might have had a different take on the room size (storage space is very limited) but as it was I was as happy as a clam.

I loved the location and I felt like I was coming home to a welcoming residence every night. The bed was super-comfortable and just about the perfect place to spend a rainy Sunday night "at home". Attention to detail in the renovated bathrooms was another delightful feature. The public areas on the ground floor didn't feel at all pretentious or try-hard and were perfect for rendezvousing with friends and added to the residential, clubby feel of the place. Staff were helpful and friendly to a person, although one or two were a little salty and aloof. One negative: you can hear the goings-on in the compact corridors quite clearly from inside your room. If someone is banging on the door of the room next to yours and trying to rouse the sleeping occupant ("Morty, we're going to leave without you!"), you will know all about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing West 8th Street on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pablomoderno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Marlton. The rooms are cozy, quiet and well appointed. We spent most of our time exploring the city so the size was fine for the two of us. We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant - free continental breakfast was limited in choice, but enough to get us going each morning. Location is close to subway and there are also eating and shopping establishments near by. Staff was friendly. Would stay again if in the NYC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom4boys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2014 and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere, attention to detail in the rooms and the staff were all spot on as is the location. There is not a single thing I can think of to improve it. The lobby area is inviting full of comfy chairs, low lighting and a fireplace which must make it a haven in winter. The rooms lack nothing.. We hated leaving.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank likestotravelsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay here. The rooms were comfy and well appointed. The staff were generally helpful especially the concierge. I love the seating area in the lobby. Cons: Breakfast needs some organization.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Loved it. Just wished they would have had king bed.Room small but perfect.
Great area. Good food. Love the bar and lobby. A total find. Went with grown teenage daughter booked two rooms for the 4 of us for the cost of one room at a hotel we usually would go to. Bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a great Hotel steps from Washington Square and Greenwich Village, as well as convenient access to the subway system. Overall the Marlton Hotel has great style with no pretensions, the rooms are small, as are many New York hotel rooms, but functional with a good sized bathroom. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful with directions and area amenities. The bar is lively yet intimate. The restaurant has a great menu throughout the day in a well designed atmosphere. We stayed here for five nights and were totally comfortable, we definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrchris33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlton Hotel

Property: The Marlton Hotel
Address: 5 W 8th St, New York City, NY 10011-9099
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marlton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Marlton Hotel, located in the heart of Greenwich Village, comes the latest vision of Hotelier Sean MacPherson. This elegantly restored landmark building was formerly a home to famous artistic figures of the Bohemian and Beat movements, ‘most notably Jack Kerouac’. MacPherson redesigned the property by combining the original architecture with updated French influences for a look inspired by Paris and Greenwich Village history. This “baby grand” hotel guest rooms are charmingly petite yet grand in décor. Guest rooms feature herringbone wood floors, brass fixtures, crown moldings, and marble bathrooms.The ground floor of the property features a 100-seat restaurant with a coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Marlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing