We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milano
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with bad customer service”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is my second review on Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden within 2 months. Unfortunately, I had to remove my first, very positive review regarding a stay in April because something new happened last week. On 13 June the hotel took from my credit card the amount of $ 1331.35 without my authorization. Of course the April stay had been settled at the due time!!! I immediately called their customer service, and they told me that the General Manager, Mr Hunter Glass, would send me an e-mail within 72 hours, which he hasn't done. In the meantime, I have started a formal dispute through my bank. What irritates me more is the fact that they didn't bother to explain what happened, showing no interest at all in their clients. I definitely won't choose Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden for my future trips to NY.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pulcherja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Unfortunately, on Trip Advisor comments I don't have access to the name of the guest who is filling out the review. I do not have any outstanding complaints about credit card charges, but if you would like to call me at the hotel I would be more than happy to figure out what happened and certainly fix it to your satisfaction. I can be reached at 212-947-9700.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    742
    191
    55
    38
See reviews for
695
459
107
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Our youth choir stayed here while on tour. The hotel was prepared for us when we arrived, staff was very helpful and courteous even met the gm in the breakfast room. Big variety of breakfasts well prepared and served. Convenient to many subway lines & shopping areas. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bkisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Group Guest,

I am so pleased that you chose our hotel to host your group. I am very pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us! I hope that you will come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at the Hampton Inn & I plan on returning next month. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The hotel is quiet and very well managed. Staff super - friendly, helpful, and courteous. Breakfast is very good - lots of choices and tasted fine. Cookies in late afternoon, too. One of the manger's ( Daryl Griffiths) was most helpful - great customer service. The hotel is close to Penn Station and Madison Square Gardens and not too far from the large Macy's and other dept. stores for shopping. They also offer senior discounts & military discounts
( online) which helps defer the cost which can be very steep in NYC. Overall a very well run establishment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyKate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review. I love to hear that people enjoy staying with us! I am very pleased that you liked our location and expecially Darryl. He will be thrilled to read this review I'm sure.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very sorry for the late review but still wanted to leave one as we had a great stay, Location was great and very close to Empire state building, Time square, Maddison square gardens etc. Breaskfast was included and was very nice, get there as early as you can because the seating is very limited so if you stay at a busy time of year be prepared to stand. Loved the fact you could make tea/coffee/hot chocolate at any time of day, we stayed in February and it was pretty cold getting back in the evenings so it was a welcome touch. The Hotel was very clean and staff were friendly....I will point out that the rooms are fairly small, especially by Americas standards but it wasn't a huge problem for us(Husband and I and a 12 year old and 9 year old) and it wouldn't put us off from staying here again. After all you don't go to New York and spend much time in the room. I have to mention that the lighting in the bathroom and shower were one of the best i've had on any holiday and i've been on a few so that was a bonus for me, the beds were pretty comfortable too. We didn't get much of a view from our room but we requested a quiete room so it was out of the way. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to New York and look forward to going back :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullbreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that you took the time to review your stay with us, even if it was a little while ago! We know that people choose hotels based upon these reviews, so anytime someone writes a review I am thrilled!

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that our central location is wonderful for getting to all the major attractions. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet. It can be quite a cost savings to have free breakfast and wifi.

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is a relatively small hotel but close to everything including Penn Station. Having breakfast and free in-room wi-fi included is an added bonus. The rooms aren’t big and storage can be a bit problematic if you have lots of luggage, but there really are no faults to be attributable to this place (maybe except for very slow lifts which can be frustrating when waiting) which represents great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review of your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am please that you enjoyed our location and our free breakfast and wifi. I hope that when you return to NY that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

In terms of location, this hotel was close enough to a lot of attractions since it is in the Midtown vicinity. Lots of shopping and food establishments within walking distance. Staff were friendly during our entire stay which was three nights. Every time we walked through the lobby, someone greeted us at the desk. And of course, every evening like Hamton Inn always does, there was a plate of warm cookies. I just don't know why cookies are left out during the afternoon so I can walk off the calories while I'm out and about.

Now for the reasons why I could only give this hotel an "average" rating. The room was small as others have noted but clean. And this is New York afterall. There was construction behind the hotel and so as soon as the sun was up, the jack hammers and pounding started. Not only did we experience noise outside the building, it was just as loud inside. The doors in the adjoining rooms slam shut. The doors are not properly suctioned (sorry for the poor discription) so when an adjoining room has the door close without someone catching it and slowly closing it, it rattles all the other doors and makes a loud slamming sound and the noise vibrates to our room.

The hairdryer was difficult to use. You have to press down on the power switch the entire time while using it. I do not think it was ADA friendly. My hands got tired after a few minutes of pressing on the button while trying to dry and style.

A hot breakfast was provided in the eating area on the first floor every morning. I can't be absolutely sure, but I think the eggs were powdered eggs. It was some of the worse scrambled eggs that no amount of salt and pepper could fix. I was also disappointed in the waffle station. Other hotels provide fresh strawberry sauce but there was none here. I think for $500 a night, fresh strawberry sauce would have been nice.

Oh, one more good point to end this review. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Our king size bed was soft and I so wanted to take home the comforter.

In terms of location, this place was great. Koreatown was just a block away with some awful food and an entire block of Korean restaurants to try. Times Square, Garment District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station were all in walking distance. I would recommend this place only for the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed our nice comfortable beds and our location. I am sorry to hear about the loud doors, I will have my engineers take a look at those rooms and get them adjust to shut more quietly. Thankfully the two buildings next door are down and the noise has stopped, I'm sorry they had to take them down while you were here. I like your suggestion of strawberry sause for the waffles, I'll see if we can start offering that too.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn 9-13 April 2012. The hotel is within walking distance to all major attractions ie Times square, Empire state Building and and so on. The hotel itself the rooms are a little small but clean the free buffet breakfast is a plus and there was plenty of variety. ocerall I would stay at thisb hotel again and would definately recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel01061972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I agree, this location very close to many of New York's attractions as well as the subways.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing