We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveller rating
1,052
867
220
64
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
867
220
64
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penn station great location new york free breakfast warm cookies rooms are small the breakfast area yogurt empire state building front desk staff would definitely stay here again clean hotel around the corner room size would highly recommend this hotel few blocks central location
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is very small, it was a bit close feeling at times since my husband is very tall, especially in the breakfast area. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect for exploring midtown by foot. Be sure to ask the front desk about local attractions, they gave us quick passes to the Empire State Building. Construction just began on a building next door so I don't recommend rooms on the East side of the hotel.

Room tip: Avoid the lower levels and rooms on the East side of the building, the construction is a bit noisy.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horsegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We take your comments about your stay seriously. New York hotels seem to be smaller than most hotels; we are glad that you able to enjoy your stay. We apologize about the noise disturbance from the construction next door; next time you decide to stay us we can assign you a room that is not on the east side of the building,.Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

very friendly staff, an easy walk to Penn Station and the Empire State building. Good restaurants nearby, I especially recommend IndiKitch for a great lunch or dinner. Close to the subway and surface transportation will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn on my next trip to New York.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feed back with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location of the hotel. We hope that when you return, you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It's great value for the location to major attractions in the city, highways and access to subways. Can't be beat! The staff was helpful and accommodated all of our needs. The breakfast had plenty of variety and great quality. Parking in the area is a bit of a pain but they try and make it as easy as possible (discount on local lots).

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Driving and finding parking in New York can be a pain we are glad you were able to utilize our discounted parking lot; we are glad that you enjoyed the stay with all the other amenities we had to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a good hotel with great helpful staff. Buffet breakfast and clean rooms.
The location is excellent just off broadway and beside madison sq gdns.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hampton inn, and I would return myself.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location is almost centralized and easily accessible to most subway lines and attractions which is plus for our guests. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you again for taking time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Clean, quite boutique hotel. They have a wonderful breakfast in the morning with anything you hearts delight! If you don't have time for breakfast on the weekdays they have a to go bag with a muffin, water, mints a protein bar and an apple. There are wonderful delicious warm cookies waiting for you when you come back after a long days work. The staff is very nice but make sure you ask for a bath tub, because not all room have one!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We apologize that we were unable to accommodate your needs. We suggest after booking your reservation, add a comment for a preferences and if available we would be happy to accommodate you.
The breakfast and our staff are the most raved about delights at the Hampton Inn MSG. We are pleased that you were able to experience the best we have to offer. We hope that when you come back to New York City, we are your number one choice! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews