We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, walking distance to empire state building with free breakfast and free wifi.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #143 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 March 2014

overall the hotel was nice enough. the rooms were lovely but very small. two people to a room is max. breakfast was great. the food was good and the staff were wonderful. you can walk 2 short blocks to the empire state building. there is nowhere to pull over to load or unload when arriving and departing. we had to drive around the block a few times then double park with taxis wailing their horns at us. it was very stressful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly30840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize about the difficulty you found when trying to park with the hotel. We are hoping that the construction ends soon next door opening up room for our guests to unload and park. We hope we will have the opportunity to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is very small, it was a bit close feeling at times since my husband is very tall, especially in the breakfast area. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect for exploring midtown by foot. Be sure to ask the front desk about local attractions, they gave us quick passes to the Empire State Building. Construction just began on a building next door so I don't recommend rooms on the East side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower levels and rooms on the East side of the building, the construction is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horsegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We take your comments about your stay seriously. New York hotels seem to be smaller than most hotels; we are glad that you able to enjoy your stay. We apologize about the noise disturbance from the construction next door; next time you decide to stay us we can assign you a room that is not on the east side of the building,.Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

very friendly staff, an easy walk to Penn Station and the Empire State building. Good restaurants nearby, I especially recommend IndiKitch for a great lunch or dinner. Close to the subway and surface transportation will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feed back with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location of the hotel. We hope that when you return, you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It's great value for the location to major attractions in the city, highways and access to subways. Can't be beat! The staff was helpful and accommodated all of our needs. The breakfast had plenty of variety and great quality. Parking in the area is a bit of a pain but they try and make it as easy as possible (discount on local lots).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Driving and finding parking in New York can be a pain we are glad you were able to utilize our discounted parking lot; we are glad that you enjoyed the stay with all the other amenities we had to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a good hotel with great helpful staff. Buffet breakfast and clean rooms.
The location is excellent just off broadway and beside madison sq gdns.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hampton inn, and I would return myself.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location is almost centralized and easily accessible to most subway lines and attractions which is plus for our guests. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you again for taking time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Clean, quite boutique hotel. They have a wonderful breakfast in the morning with anything you hearts delight! If you don't have time for breakfast on the weekdays they have a to go bag with a muffin, water, mints a protein bar and an apple. There are wonderful delicious warm cookies waiting for you when you come back after a long days work. The staff is very nice but make sure you ask for a bath tub, because not all room have one!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We apologize that we were unable to accommodate your needs. We suggest after booking your reservation, add a comment for a preferences and if available we would be happy to accommodate you.
The breakfast and our staff are the most raved about delights at the Hampton Inn MSG. We are pleased that you were able to experience the best we have to offer. We hope that when you come back to New York City, we are your number one choice! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location of the Hampton Inn was very convenient to MSG, 6th/7th Ave Metro stops, fashion district etc. Staff was fantastic, helpful, knowledgeable, courteous. Bathroom decent sized, but overall size of room put a damper on the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank karenp771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We understand that our rooms may be a bit cozy, if you were traveling alone we do suggest booking a King size room; those rooms may be a bit more spacious. Helpfulness of our staff can improve your stay immensely, so we are glad that they were very informative. We hope that when you return to New York City you decide to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#147 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#160 of 473 in New York City
2,276 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 473 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#127 of 473 in New York City
928 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#246 of 473 in New York City
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £104 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing