We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #147 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you need to be near Penn Station / Madison Square Garden / Herald Square, then this Hampton is your spot. Very, VERY convenient --- just off 6th at 31st. Rooms are tighter than the other Hampton Inns in midtown and the internet is HORRIBLE --- but it IS clean, quiet, and very well located.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank TenchnoCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that our internet service effected your stay, negatively. We rarely have issues with the internet services, we do strive to provide you with exceptional service. We will be looking into the internet connection, in hopes to resolve the issue immediately. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We showed up at 2:45 pm with a prepaid reservation through hotels.com and Marisol, having a bad day, decided to be rude to us for no good reason. Checkin time is 3 PM, and so we assumed we might have to wait for a room and so when she said curtly that she had no room (after having given a room to the people ahead of us, who made their reservation on the spot), I asked politely when she thought it would be ready. "I don't know, 3, 3:30, 4, 4:30...?" Shrugged her shoulders like she couldn't care less. She actually refused to give me validation of my parking ticket (at the garage across the street) after telling me it could be validated now or later, and I said, ok, I'd prefer now. What? I had to ask her again to do it now and she protested yet again before agreeing to do it, but with the same horrible attitude. She said we could keep our luggage at the desk. My wife and baby were already sitting on the other side of the lobby on the sofa with the luggage next to them as I had waited in the line while she had talked forever with the customer ahead of me in the line, to whom she had been very nice. So I said ok and immediately turned to get the luggage, and she said "well, whenever you're ready" as though I was being unreasonably slow. Another customer waiting in the lobby made it clear to me that she had witnessed this nasty behavior by this woman. Soon Marisol left the desk and was replaced by someone else at the counter. I waited several minutes and went up to the desk and was courteously treated by the gentleman there this time, who immediately gave us a room. Marisol should be fired. Otherwise the hotel may have been fine. But we had to see this horrible person again the next day when we checked out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelandFoodGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We requested a high floor room when booking 5 months ago and were allocated a room on the 2nd floor :( . The room was small but that was fine as we were only sleeping in it after all . Every morning apart from the weekend of easter we were woken up at 6.25 am by the construction site next door . I asked if we could be moved on our first morning and was told no because they were fully booked . So we had to put up with it . The noise was horrendous , tractors lorries and a guy blowing his whistle and yelling . Breakfast time is busy , plenty of choices , although I recommend melting your butter on the toaster before trying to spread it with the plastic knives provided , an impossible task the butter is frozen !! The cups used to have hot drinks have a horrid smell and taste to them , we all had to make do with juice and water . The shower head in the bathroom is fixed to a low setting , so in order to shampoo and rinse my hair I had to stand on the edge of the bath with my head directly under the shower head . The staff are very polite and happy to help . The hotel is very clean and in a great location for all the main attractions and shopping in New York . The only downside was the noise every morning , if we had of known we would have stayed elsewhere as we all were looking forward to a week of lie ins :(((

Room Tip: make sure the construction site has gone before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezza197408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stopped in the Hampton Inn at 31st Street West near Madison Sq Garden. Hotel has handily placed for many of the local attractions such as Macy's, Empire State Building and Times Sq, although you can choose not to walk far wherever you stay in New York. Hotel was clean, welcoming and very amenable. The complimentary breakfast was an extremely welcome start to the day. Our only glitch was the air conditioning system which woke us up several times each night despite being switched off at the wall. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Andrew Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at our hotel. We take your comments and concerns seriously. We do apologize about the disturbance, the air conditioning may have caused. We strive to provide you with exceptional service; we hope that next time you decide to stay with us you contact us immediately with any issues. We hope that when you return you decide to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is very close to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. Pricing for room with two double beds was best found. Hotel was very clean and bright. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast had something for everyone. Elevators were prompt. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We thank you for choosing to stay with us. We understand how important it is to get the best value for your money spent. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Traveling with a family party of 7 we had 3 rooms. The included breakfast was a real benefit. The location was great. Access to anywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review. New York City rooms are a bit snug, we are glad the you were still able to enjoy the rest of the hotel and its accessibility to most places.We hope that you think of us when you decide to plan your next trip to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recommend this hotel for your stay in New York. It is conveniently positioned and the staff are without exception courteous and extremely helpful. Comfortable rooms and a complimentary breakfast set you up for a days exploring of Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to respond, thank you for the great review. We hope that when you return to the area you choose to stay with the Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 470 in New York City
1,946 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 470 in New York City
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 470 in New York City
2,077 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#252 of 470 in New York City
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £112 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing