We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #170 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just stayed at the Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden, enjoying four nights with them. The hotel was nice rooms were really tight with two beds and four people. Great location! easy to walk to Times Square and the subway. Breakfast was ok, but to be honest we had been on the road for five weeks and so by the end we were getting pretty tired of hotel breakfasts. We had stayed at four other Hampton Inns prior to this stay. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Special Kudos to the General Manager with whom I spoke with about how to tip for parking in the garage next door and where to park at the Yankee game later that evening. Really nice guy.

Room Tip: As of July 2014 there is construction next door so I would go higher up to have less construction no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you talking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    755
    193
    56
    40
See reviews for
709
464
110
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this hampton inn had the best staff at the desk and in the breakfast room i have ever known. the helpfulness of the desk staff in helping us navigate the metro all over manhattan and brooklyn was outstanding--NO, REPEAT NO BUM STEERS. breakfast treated us as individuals and provided for our allergies.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time, it is much appreciated. Your comments about the staff are much appreciated and I will surely share this review with them as I know they will be thrilled. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overall it was a great stay, all Hampton standars are well applied. The rooms do are loud and tiny, but as my first visit to the city I did expected these.
The location is great and the staff is very nice, I did not catch the name of the receptionist but she was great! (July 10 morning shift)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura8483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be perfect for your needs. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Some friends and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for a long weekend in Manhattan and It was the best hotel experience I've ever had. We arrived before check-in so they held our bags for us while we explored the city. They were polite, friendly, and helpful. They suggested a delicious Peruvian restaurant to go to before our Broadway show and bake cookies and leave them in the lobby in the afternoons. The morning breakfast included with our stay was massive with eggs, meats, waffles, yogurt, breads, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and coffee (with to go cups). If you miss breakfast, they left breakfast to-go bags in the lobby to take with you.

I was very surprised at how accommodating the hotel was. They went above and beyond normal hotel standards to make our stay wonderful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be perfect for your needs. Our breakfast really is a delightful start to your day.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I needed a hotel near Penn Station to take me to see the ON THE RUN Concert at Metlife Stad. in NJ and this hotel was not only close to it, but close everything else I wanted to see! Check in was smooth, the clerks were nice. But there were NO COOKIES. Only complaint. LOL. I didn't want for anything. I requested a high floor b/c of all of the construction I read about on here, but I didn't get it and thank goodness, because I heard NOTHING. And the lower floor was quicker to downstairs lol because the elevators take A LOOONG TIME. I recommend this hotel b/c it was cheap to me, by NY standards, clean, there are NO critter or bugs, safe, busy, and nearest everything!! There is a FRE FULL BREAKFAST with turkey products, pork, waffle maker, omelettes, fruit, yogurt, and juices and coffee. Cabs are near. There is a liquor store around the corner and a .99 store and restaurant directly across the street. There is even Manhattan Mall right on the next street. The hotel staff will call a car to take you to airport, It was $48. Nice driver. I am goign back to NY and will def. stay here again!! Loved it.

Room Tip: Lower floor b/c elevators are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. It is great your enjoyed you time here and our staff were helpful. Thank you for your review, we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 12th to 16th July and were impressed by the staff, location, price and free breakfast and wi-fi. Great location for subway, Penn station, shopping, etc. Lovely fresh cookies at reception every evening were a big hit with my teenage daughter too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cunninghamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was able to stay at this Hampton Last minute and got a really good rate for the room. Breakfast was nice but the front desk and dining area was packed with tourist and other guest. If you are looking for a good rate at the last minute, it might be a nice place to checkout (got a good rate using the app "Hotel Tonight" for the iphone so I can not take all the credit)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review. Glad you selected our hotel for your last minute booking!

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 468 in New York City
815 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 468 in New York City
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 468 in New York City
1,985 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#217 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing