We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #160 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Manhattan-Madison Square Garden at the end of July with my wife and three kids. The hotel service was excellent and front desk staff were so friendly. The hotel was so crowded during the breakfast and the room was a little small, which is usual for a hotel in the New York downtown. I paid $ 30 for an overnight parking. I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adnanfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is great that you received great service from our staff. It is common every now and then to have a bit of breakfast traffic from time to time, I do apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused.Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    771
    195
    56
    41
See reviews for
734
473
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very convenient from Amtrak station, just 1 block away. Front desk staff was courteous and kind. The rooms were clean and comfortable, bigger than what I expected from a NYC hotel room. Hotel includes free hot breakfast in the morning, which was great. Plenty of quick bites and restuarants nearby to select for lunch and dinner. 2 blocks from subway station and in the heart of 34th Street/Hearld Square, including Macy's, mall, shops and the Empire State Building. Less than 10 blocks from Times Square. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great Hotel to select if you're traveling in to NYC from Amtrak (Penn Station), which is just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel_dcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you choose to stay with us again upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Be cautious of parking. Was told I could park my vehicle with trailer in tow for $49 per day and that was not quite true. If you park at their designated parking garages you get parking validation. Their garages were full and I ended up at a different garage to the tune of $258 for 3 days. Other than parking, it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your review. I do apologize that you had to pay an outrageous amount to to park. We try our best make it clear for any guests inquiring to park with us the location and the rate. I hope that when you return and if you drive; you get assistance from one of our staff members. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in New York. The staff was amazing, they were helpful and friendly. The complimentary hot breakfast was great and it was different everyday. The rooms are smaller in New York but very clean. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

When I checked in the rooms are extremely small. I was on vacation and awaken before 7 am to loud construction. I called down and spoke with David. He said he would move me to another room after twelve and it never happened. We had two rooms at this hotel. We had plans on getting up at 3:30 am to go to the Good Morning America show and could not sleep because at 11:30 pm the noise was worst. I paid over $2000.00 for three nights and could not sleep PERIOD here while I was on vacation. I could have stayed home for free if I didn't want rest. The people that gave this hotel a 5 star I hate to see where else you have stayed because this compare to a one star hotel. Never will stay here again even if it was for free.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcjcpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable to you due to outside noise by the neighboring construction. We have been working closely with our neighbor to minimize any inconvenience caused to our guests. While we do not have any control over the noisy city, we do have control over maximizing our hospitality for your comfort.

The majority of our guests are seasoned travelers and have posted accurate reviews based on their experiences.

If you have any questions, please email me directly at kevin.catrambone@hilton.com.

Thank you for staying with us.

Be well,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just stayed at the Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden, enjoying four nights with them. The hotel was nice rooms were really tight with two beds and four people. Great location! easy to walk to Times Square and the subway. Breakfast was ok, but to be honest we had been on the road for five weeks and so by the end we were getting pretty tired of hotel breakfasts. We had stayed at four other Hampton Inns prior to this stay. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Special Kudos to the General Manager with whom I spoke with about how to tip for parking in the garage next door and where to park at the Yankee game later that evening. Really nice guy.

Room Tip: As of July 2014 there is construction next door so I would go higher up to have less construction no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you talking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this hampton inn had the best staff at the desk and in the breakfast room i have ever known. the helpfulness of the desk staff in helping us navigate the metro all over manhattan and brooklyn was outstanding--NO, REPEAT NO BUM STEERS. breakfast treated us as individuals and provided for our allergies.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time, it is much appreciated. Your comments about the staff are much appreciated and I will surely share this review with them as I know they will be thrilled. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 466 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 466 in New York City
846 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#168 of 466 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 466 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 466 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#199 of 466 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing