We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Priced and Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #158 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canada
1 review
“Very Well Priced and Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Me and my family stayed here for 3 nights, and had a very nice time. The hotel was very reasonably priced for Manhattan at about $200.00 per night, the service was good, and the hotel itself was very clean. They have a complimentary hot breakfast available each morning with coffee and tea available around the clock. Parking is just a few blocks away, as well as Macy's, Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. The rooms are quite small, but you don't spend much time there anyway. All in all, it was a great place to stay, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    771
    195
    56
    41
See reviews for
734
473
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This hotel is great. Nice, new and clean bedroom, on the house internet and breakfast, friendly staff. Ok, the bedroom is not so big, but is enought to get some rest at NYC. Worthy for the money.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RLBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We booked this by chance as our 1st and 2nd choices were unavailable. It's in a good location, walking distance to Macy's, Empire State Building and Times square. The first afternoon(Sunday) we visited Empre State ($20 ea), walked through Maddison Ave street market to Times Sq and ate at Hard Rock cafe, which our kids loved (we were so tired we couldn't eat it all!)
Next day we booked a 48hour Gray line open top bus ticket ($54 each). This was an enjoyble way to see as much as possible in the limited time we had. We did a full downtown loop first then got off at Ground Zero and walked to Pier 17 beach and shops before returning to the hotel for a 1 hour turnaround for 4 to shower and change for their evening tour which took us to Brooklyn and ended at Times Square. We had to walk the rest of the way but stopped at The Midtown Buffet (a Chinese buffet $12 each). This place was the only bad thing to report. They asked us to pay on ordering "as it was after 10" then started cleaning floors around us and rushing us into getting our dessert. When I told the waitress I was not happy she simply walked off. Food was ok but atmosphere spolied it.
Tuesday we got up early (avoided breakfast rush 8am) to catch the Liberty/Ellis Island boat. Both Islands were very enjoyable $12, $20 for audio tour of both Statue of Liberty (outside only) and Ellis Island museum. I didn't have time to see anything beyond first floor as my teenagers were getting hungry- the cafe there is good. Another dash back on the bus to shower before a broadway show- 'Rock of Ages' at 7pm-Phew, at least the kids enjoyed it! (Tickets$220 at the ticket booth near Pier 17, queued 20 minutes same day). Had to snack on sweets from the 99cent store opposite hotel before getting late night pizza slice from Sbarro Times Sq.
Had a lie in on our last day (8am!) Had to pack, had breakfast at a really good inexpensive diner 2 or 3 doors left as you leave hotel before shopping at Macy's! Manager recommended diner and he booked our car back to Newark which took only 20 mins at 2pm, $80. Would take longer in rush hour (which is why we got off the bus and walked sometimes). We can't wait to return so we can do all the museums, uptown tour and central park etc, 3 nights is a rush but we'd had 11 nights of relaxation in Pennsylvania with friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Maybe we were just lucky, but we had an extremely great time at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to give us handouts on the local sites. We went everywhere from Coney Island, Staten Island, Grants Tomb, Columbia University, Guggenheim Museum, Regis & Kelly show, Time Square, Statute of Liberty, FAO Schwartz and other stores, Wall Street, Top of the Rock, Teddy Roosevelts House, etc. We were successful because of the staff at this hotel. We stayed at this hotel for 10 days. yes, sometimes slow elevators, small room, small excecise room. But, the bed was great, we ate at 6:30 every mornign and evrthything was fresh. IWe booked and paid up front 6 months in advance for $119 per night. with no chance of changes or cancellations. Can you beat that price? I don't think so. If I can get that rate again, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank az1969guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

On arrival we were greeted by a great conceire that was more than willing to give us great information. Being from Ohio, New York was a little overwelming and he did help with those jidders. The hotel was disappointing. We frequent Hampton Inn Hotels often and this one was very small. The rooms were very small with inadaquete space for 2 adults and 2 children. You really felt on top of each other and cramped. The cleanliness was not like a usual Hampton Inn. This hotel needs to be updated. The location was ok. It was 1 block from Madison Square Garden and a good 30 minute walk to Times Square(which is where the main restaurants and many things to do). I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Good midtown location, but a really terrible breakfast. Room cleaning intermittent, but generally room was good quality. Reception desk helpful. A short walk from Penn Station makes arrival easy. very close to some excellent Korean restaurants on 32nd St. Overall, adequate but nothing special. No restaurant or bar, but plenty of options nearby.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Just returned from 13 days stay at the Hampton Inn. Hotel is very convenient to Penn Station. We used the Airtrain from Newark and walked to the Hotel (less than 5 minutes) Also very close to Herald Square Subway (34th Street).
Room was spotless - cleaned every day . Breakfast room was small but always got a seat and adequate selection of food.
Only negative -the 2 lifts were extremely slow in the morning time (unfortunately the cleaning staff seemed to "hold" the lifts forever at floors to load/unload towels etc )
Purcahased a 14 day Metrocard which gave us access to Subway / MTA Buses in Manhattan as well as Coney Island and southern end of Staten Island .
Used both Broadwaybox.com and TKTS to see the following shows at reduced rates Altarz Boys, The Toxic Avenger and Rock of Ages.
Had great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#264 of 466 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 466 in New York City
846 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#168 of 466 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 466 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 466 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#210 of 466 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing