We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in agreat location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #162 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent value in agreat location.”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed in last week of Septmber. Airtrain from JFK change to LIRR at Jamaica $8 to Penn Station a short walk to hotel. Easy check in less than 5 minutes. Room adequate but how much room do you need, when you are in NY what is the point of sitting in a massive hotel room. Clean room new towels every day, beds good. Breakfast not brilliant but as much as you want and no rush. At the price we paid I was surprised to get anything so it was a bonus. Tea and coffee all day, good for a sit out the back at the end of the day as it was extremely sunny all week. In summary excellent value for money in a good location, would recommend to anyone who wants a good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleychester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    770
    195
    56
    41
See reviews for
730
472
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I called the hotel before we went to New York to check our reservation and they sounded so friendly and looking forward to seeing us. When we arrived, they were cheerful, and welcoming, helping us to feel relaxed and looked after. They told us "It's your Hotel, feel free" and that's what we did! After reading some hotel reviews, we were slightly dubious about what we would get from a 'boutique hotel', tiny wash rooms, no room to unpack, drab decoration, uncomfortable bed, etc. There was no need to feel that in the Hampton Inn!
The rooms were fresh and clean, with a large welcoming bed, double shower and hot running water. There was a closet with hangers and shelves, ironing board and iron, bedside table and a large desk. We had a flat screen tv and radio alarm clock. Although it was coming in to autumn the air conditioner was on, however, we could turn it off if it became too cool. There was also a tea/coffee machine. We had a fairly quiet and relaxing night, considering that we were at the front of the building.
Complimentary breakfast in the conservatory would have satisfied most diets. It included, eggs and burgers, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt and fruit salad, all freshly made. So that saved us a few bucks! There was also a small patio if you smoked or just wanted to sit in the fresh air. This we used every night before retiring to enjoy a nightcap whilst discussing the days events.
The desk staff and concierge were so chatty and helpful, they recommended the hop on and off sightseeing buses to help us get our barings and we were even given the concierges card and told to call him if we encountered any problems, they would assist us. In the evenings they were always interested to hear about any adventures that we'd had. We were also able to use the internet access in the lobby. There is also a small fitness room on the lower level, if you haven't already walked your feet off!
The hotel was well situated in the garment area, close to the buses, Penn Station, Maccy's and the Empire State building. 5th Avenue was just along the road. We found a few good Irish bars nearby and plenty of restaurants catering for all nationalities.
We were sad to leave this home from home after the week and they even advised us on our transport to the airport. It was a real pleasure staying with them and we will definitely chose the Hampton Inn next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S-O-T STAFFS.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Read so many good reports about this hotel,so decided to book it
and was not dissapointed.My friend and i came to New York for our birthdays,and it had been a lifelong ambition.The staff were very friendly and most helpful especially John,who helped us immensly with our itinerary.We found our bedroom very clean,
with very comfortable beds.The breakfast was more than adequate,with good choices.The location was excellent too.
We have no complaints about this hotel,and if ever we come to
New York in the future,We will have no hesitation in choosing this hotel.A big thanks to everyone for helping make our trip a very memorable one.

Thanks, The Brits.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank biffo032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luleå, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I really recommend this hotel to everyone! We had an amazing stay. The rooms are quite small but they are clean (unlike say..Penn..). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and more than satisfactory. They even have cupcakes for dessert!
But the best thing of all: the location! You're literally a block away from everything since the subwaystation is just around the corner (along with Victoria's Secret, Zara, Macy's, Old Navy, H&M and everything else). We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightsgrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

considering that there is a breakfast "on the house", the personnel is very friendly and helpful, and the perfect location between 6th and 7th Ave. - there is only one flaw: we did not have a room "with a view", but with a view onto a dump and a building site, I guess that problem will be solved in a few months .....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrseccp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us you thoughts on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Me and my family stayed here for 3 nights, and had a very nice time. The hotel was very reasonably priced for Manhattan at about $200.00 per night, the service was good, and the hotel itself was very clean. They have a complimentary hot breakfast available each morning with coffee and tea available around the clock. Parking is just a few blocks away, as well as Macy's, Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. The rooms are quite small, but you don't spend much time there anyway. All in all, it was a great place to stay, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This hotel is great. Nice, new and clean bedroom, on the house internet and breakfast, friendly staff. Ok, the bedroom is not so big, but is enought to get some rest at NYC. Worthy for the money.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RLBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,337 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#200 of 467 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing