We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not 'very good'!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #136 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good, but not 'very good'!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well located! Courteous staff. Nice clean rooms, recently renovated. Good value for your money.
But very, very "touristy". Sometimes, elevators can't handle the crowd!. Nice breakfast bars just around the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms with small kitchens available. Very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Thank you very much for thoughtful review!

I am delighted that your family had a great time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    429
    106
    32
    24
See reviews for
501
269
40
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Affinia 50 this past weekend and had a great experience, overall! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't be better, especially with a young child. We were able to walk to most of the sights we wanted to see, or quickly hop on the subway from the hotel. The rooms were very clean, including the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, as well. We stumbled on this hotel on the Internet, and selected it for its location. It was a bit more than we wanted to spend, but worth every penny. We would definitely stay there again, and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you have a CAA membership, they offer a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have stayed at the Affinia 50 several times now, the hotel is being refreshed so is now much more modern. The best part about the hotel is its friendly staff. I also like the location, itis close to 5th avenue and far enough away from Times Square to avoid the crazyness but is still only a ten minute wald. The one bed suites are of a generous size and the price is reasonable, walking sdistance ot most spots such as the Rockerfeller centre, Saks and only one block to the subway.

Room Tip: Ask for Rome at the front door, always helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a room on the 17th floor and found it reasonably quiet for NYC. The Affinia 50 was newly remodeled, clean, attractive and in a great location. The king bed room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was mid-sized but had a spacious shower. All modes of transportation are easily accessed from the hotel and there were lots of restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the junior suite with our two granddaughters at Affinia 50 in New York City - it was great. The staff is super friendly, the location is perfect for subways and sights, and the room was comfy and good size. It is especially good for families-light and airy upstairs lounge where continental breakfast and complimentary wine is served in the evening.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite if you are traveling with kids, not the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! I couldn’t be happier to hear that our spacious rooms were the perfect accommodations for you and your family. We also love our great location as we are right in the middle of everything that New York has to offer.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

After a 5 days roundtrip in florida we arrived in the "big apple" :-)
Weeks before I made an research in the internet, - which Hotel will efford all my belongings, in NYC the biggest melting point of the world.
I found the Affinia50 and made an arrangement with the staff, by phone and e-mail from Europe.

With some "mixed feeling" we checked in, at the friendly but very busy front desk. We as europeans are not so fast in english, - as the staff speaks. But when the front desk girls recognize, - that we are from the old europe "they put one gear down in fast speaking" :-)

What should I say .... everything was as described in the Hotel brouchure or in the Internet, or also agreed by phone and e-mail.

To be honest to the staff, - it was realy a very warm welcome and we feel "home", arrived in NYC, a place to be !!!

Room Tip: If you´re looking for greater Hotel rooms as NYC "elsewhere" offers, than stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UniverseScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for a week and it was a fantastic place to base ourselves for the city. The location is central and there are easy connections to the subway, buses etc, Also there are enough places close by to eat - breakfast or dinner or coffee. Rooms are large and light. Staff are happy and helpful. We would definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing