We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #143 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed in the Affinia 50 for a week with my partner in the middle of June and the only complaint I have is that the hotel towels are on the small side but I have a theory that this may be to put off people taking them. Apart from that little quibble, I have nothing bad to say at all. The staff are attentive and friendly. The hotel itself is clean, up to date and rooms are a decent size. Free wifi in the lounge on level 2, you have to pay for in room wifi. They also do a free wine hour in the lounge but we were always out when this was on in the evenings. There was also a fitness room on floor 2 but we never used this either.

The bed was huge (was much bigger than my king size bed at home) and the pillows were just right. The room was cleaned and the bed made every day to a high standard. The air con worked to bring the room temp down to 19/20 degrees and whilst it was needed overnight it certainly drowned out the noise on the streets so we both slept well every night. The shower was adequate and had three different jet settings. The main thing was that the temperature of the water was constant whatever time it was used plus there was a temp guide on the shower tap which was useful. There were ear plugs, desk area and desk chair, sitting chair and foot stool, flat screen TV, wardrobe space, a case stand, safe, room service menu, phone, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge in the queen room we had. In the bathroom there was soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. I was surprised to see that the hairdryer was powerful in comparison to other hotel ones I have used.

The subway was nearby, Times Square was within walking distance, close to Rockerfeller Centre and Top of the Rock plus St Patricks Cathedral, Grand Central station and the Chrysler building were all nearby. We walked nearly everywhere and anything downtown we caught the subway which is easy enough to navigate.

There was a breakfast place called New York Luncheonette about three doors down that we had breakfast in once for convenience and Morning Star cafe was about 5/10 min walk away. We mostly ate at Juniors in the dining concourse of Grand Central Station. There is a little shop next door to the Luncheonette that sells sweets, drinks and has an ATM. We had planned on going to next doors hotel (Kimberley Hotel) to drink in their rooftop bar but were too shattered to go.

Check out was easy and the hotel gave us different options in which to do this on the morning of check out. No complaints from us and we are happy to recommend this hotel as a great base with which to explore such an amazing city.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor so not good for views but the wifi from the 2nd floor lounge worked in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFlibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    453
    114
    38
    25
See reviews for
534
280
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well located! Courteous staff. Nice clean rooms, recently renovated. Good value for your money.
But very, very "touristy". Sometimes, elevators can't handle the crowd!. Nice breakfast bars just around the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms with small kitchens available. Very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Thank you very much for thoughtful review!

I am delighted that your family had a great time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Affinia 50 this past weekend and had a great experience, overall! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't be better, especially with a young child. We were able to walk to most of the sights we wanted to see, or quickly hop on the subway from the hotel. The rooms were very clean, including the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, as well. We stumbled on this hotel on the Internet, and selected it for its location. It was a bit more than we wanted to spend, but worth every penny. We would definitely stay there again, and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you have a CAA membership, they offer a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have stayed at the Affinia 50 several times now, the hotel is being refreshed so is now much more modern. The best part about the hotel is its friendly staff. I also like the location, itis close to 5th avenue and far enough away from Times Square to avoid the crazyness but is still only a ten minute wald. The one bed suites are of a generous size and the price is reasonable, walking sdistance ot most spots such as the Rockerfeller centre, Saks and only one block to the subway.

Room Tip: Ask for Rome at the front door, always helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a room on the 17th floor and found it reasonably quiet for NYC. The Affinia 50 was newly remodeled, clean, attractive and in a great location. The king bed room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was mid-sized but had a spacious shower. All modes of transportation are easily accessed from the hotel and there were lots of restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the junior suite with our two granddaughters at Affinia 50 in New York City - it was great. The staff is super friendly, the location is perfect for subways and sights, and the room was comfy and good size. It is especially good for families-light and airy upstairs lounge where continental breakfast and complimentary wine is served in the evening.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite if you are traveling with kids, not the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! I couldn’t be happier to hear that our spacious rooms were the perfect accommodations for you and your family. We also love our great location as we are right in the middle of everything that New York has to offer.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After a 5 days roundtrip in florida we arrived in the "big apple" :-)
Weeks before I made an research in the internet, - which Hotel will efford all my belongings, in NYC the biggest melting point of the world.
I found the Affinia50 and made an arrangement with the staff, by phone and e-mail from Europe.

With some "mixed feeling" we checked in, at the friendly but very busy front desk. We as europeans are not so fast in english, - as the staff speaks. But when the front desk girls recognize, - that we are from the old europe "they put one gear down in fast speaking" :-)

What should I say .... everything was as described in the Hotel brouchure or in the Internet, or also agreed by phone and e-mail.

To be honest to the staff, - it was realy a very warm welcome and we feel "home", arrived in NYC, a place to be !!!

Room Tip: If you´re looking for greater Hotel rooms as NYC "elsewhere" offers, than stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UniverseScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,608 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
4,750 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,378 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 468 in New York City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing