We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect brunch”
Review of La Ripaille

La Ripaille
Reserve with OpenTable
La Ripaille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,052 of 13,735 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: W.12th
Transit: Subway 1,2,3, 14th Street stop, 12th Street exit; A,C,E 14th Street stop
Description: Opened in 1980, La Ripaille is one of the oldest restaurants in West Village. Some of the regulars have been coming for as long as 25 years. We want everyone to feel welcome here, whether it’s the celebrities who frequent, the children for whom we provide games & crayons, or the people who live in the Village. The owner, Alain Laurent, is integral in the day-to-day processes of La Ripaille. He daily scours the market for the freshest produce, often choosing the day’s specials based on his finds. This keeps the specials seasonal & unique. He decorates the ever changing wine list with the best wines available. The restaurant itself is beautiful, with a terrace for the summer & a fireplace in the back for the winter. The candlelit tables light up French posters and paintings & fresh flowers decorate each table. For a taste of history and delicious French cuisine, visit La Ripaille. We have a seat just for you.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect brunch”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Had the fixed price brunch $19.95, flute of champagne, eggs Benedict , salad, and coffee, delicious. Service perfect . Place is lovely inside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyj083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
735 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Should you give here the tip twice?”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

La Ripaille, "The Feast", is authentic french cuisine. We have had a perfect dinner "al fresco" with delicious wines and a lovable service. But when it came to the billing process we were a little bit puzzled: We got a hand-written guest-check with two positions you could not read. We asked the waitress. She didn't know either and came back with the information: taxes and tips.

Taxes is quite clear, but to add the tip without saying anything?
Did they think, they would get the tip twice?

And when I wanted to take the quest-check, I was not allowed. They explained me, that piece of paper would be necessary for the restaurant's bookkeeping!

That was not a nice end of an otherwise excellent meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faber689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Ripaille”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice restaurant and outdoor seating. A bit pricey, but food is good. Waiters are very friendly My son and I ate brunch here one Saturday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 757Laurie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“French Village”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is the kind of restaurant Americans try to find in Paris. Once inside you are no longer in Greenwich Village, but on a romantic, hidden French sidestreet. Hearing French spoken by the staff only added to that authenticity. For lunch I had the chicken farfalle and my companion a chicken salad. The food was very good, but without drinks or anything else (except for one coffee) the bill was $39 (before tip). Even for a New Yorker like me, that's somewhat high for a simple lunch. I would expect it in Paris. Luckily my companion asked for the price of the special (which was not given when it was announced) and it was very expensive--neither one of us had it. Ask if you're interested in it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tres Bon”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Nice French bistro, good food, Alain is an excellent host and the staff were very attentive without being intrusive. My only complaint is that for a bistro it is quite expensive, I know it's in a good location in the West Village but the prices are very high. Would I go again? Yes, but not too often due to the cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishyLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ripaille also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Ripaille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing