We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT show DECENT FOOD”
Review of Lips

Lips
Ranked #1,134 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: NEW YORK'S BEST DRAG SHOWS! The top queens of drag perform in a a glitzy and glamorous showroom full of disco balls, glitter, pink leopard fur walls, crystal high heel chandeliers and a full stage with club lighting and sound.See outrageous and over the top performances by likes of All Beef Patty, Ginger Snap, Chandelier, Blackie O, Ariel Sinclair and more as they lip sync, sing, dance, and throw in a little comedy for good measure.The queens will serve you a great meal from Lips dinner menu with delicious entrees ranging from giant steaks, grilled salmon and eight layer lasagne to salads, pastas and burgers.Don't forget to stop by the bar for a photo with New York's #1 Drag Bartender Frankie Cocktails (her legal name). She has a heavy hand and mixes some of New York's BEST cocktails including Lips WORLD FAMOUS Frozen Cosmo.Bachelorettes LOVE drag queens and Lips LOVES bachelorettes. LIPS is rated the best spot in NYC to celebrate your birthday or anything! Make sure to ask your waitress for a special on-stage celebration.Every Thursday the legendary JESSIE VOLT entertains SELL OUT crowds with her long running show - DINNER WITH THE DIVAS. Joan Rivers, Bette, Madonna, Cher, Lady Gaga, Diana Ross - You never know who will stop by!BROADWAY WORLD rates GINGER SNAPTS Sunday BROADWAY BRUNCH as FIVE STARS and the best brunch deal in NYC. Why see one show on Broadway when The Divine Miss Snapt brings you all your BROADWAY favorites in one afternoon with a great brunch and all you can drink brunch cocktails for only $19.95.An don't forget Bingo on Wednesdays, Drag Karaoke on Tuesdays, Superstar Celebrity Sundays and the ALWAYS SOLD OUT Glitz and Glamour Extravaganzas every FRIDAY AND SATURDAY.Looking for LATE NIGHT ADULT fun, be sure to check out THE DIRTY SHOW, every Friday and Saturday at MIDNIGHT.LIPS is the ultimate in drag dining across America with showrooms in New York, Florida and California. Watch for our new location in Atlanta opening in 2012.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT show DECENT FOOD”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I came here for the all you can drink brunch and show. I have to say the value was very much worth it for the show alone. It was Broadway classics, which I don't know Broadway that well, but the comedy they through into it as well made the show excellent. Food wasn't anything to brag about - actually it wasn't really that great. Bottomless booze - just ask for the bottle of champagne. Make reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eelnyc, Owner at Lips, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Glad you had some good shots, because as we always say - The more you drink, the better the ladies look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    71
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly please!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I must say when you get there you know you're going to have a fun night. It was extremely funny and high energy . If you love great entertainment you have to go.
One more thing the lip shots are great ;-).....

Helpful?
Thank Shevon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eelnyc, Owner at Lips, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Bachelorette”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've been here a few times and have had a great time laughing and enjoying the drag show. A few things that might be important is the show runs about 2hrs. If you choose the 5pm, the first show, don't expect it to start on time and it'll be short from the 2hr time limit and you may be disappointed so I would recommend the second or third show. The acts aren't elaborate but they're fun to watch what makes it enjoyable is the MC and of course other drunk girls/guys. The food is average the dish that I recommend is the crusted chicken and your waitress of course will recommend the frozen Cosmo cause they make that the best lol. The prices are not too bad but when your in a group expect to spend around $100 or less. The negative is after the show is over you have no room to stick around they reserve almost every seat even all the way in the back and the bar is small. If you go definitely plan something to do afterwards. Overall, it's a good kick start to a night out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eelnyc, Owner at Lips, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! The weekend shows are a little shorter than weekdays because we do up to 4 shows a night on Friday and Saturday! Come back and give us a try on a weeknight when do only one show each night. Plus you can try your luck at B**chy Bingo or Sing your heart out at Drag Karaoke! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to me.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went on a Tuesday night celebrating my birthday. It was packed and may have been the best birthday ever, The show was great and they make you a part of it. The food was good and a great deal for a three course meal. Not fancy but still tasty. The show was great and I may just have to come all the way from Texas next year,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eelnyc, Owner at Lips, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
You just might not have to come back to New York as Lips is expanding across the US and at this very minute we are scouting locations in Dallas and Austin! YeeHaa! Tell those Texas cowboys that the QUEENS are comming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loving Lips NYC!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's been said I'm part of the furniture at the Lips location in Atlanta, GA so I had to see if I could find a place on the wall of the one in NYC and boy did I. It's really nice, love the decor, staff is cool. I was given some great names to look out for from the Lips ATL staff, fell in love with 'All Beef Patty,' BlackieO and Melinda! All were supersweet and I enjoyed their presentations.

While I'm usually to the point of licking my plate at the ATL location, my friends and I didn't finish our food at this one. Regardless, I'd go again (maybe on a Sunday night) just because I love the concept and the great atmosphere. xoxox

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelHobbitRaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lips also viewed

 

Been to Lips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing