We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Grad Dinner!”

The Mark Restaurant by Jean Georges
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mark Restaurant by Jean Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,413 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$50 - US$75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between Madison & Fifth Avenues
Transit: 6 train to 77th Street and Lexington Avenue.
Description: Join us at The Mark Restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Jean-Georges Vongerichten brings his unbridled passion for market-fresh, simple cooking to The Mark Hotel, renovated and reopened in early 2010. The world-class menu features subtly innovative European classics blended with Jean-Georges’ signature global seasonings, and the wine collection,… showcased in a stunning copper and glass wall in the dining room, includes a range of both boutique and familiar food-friendly wines from around the world. The comfortably elegant dining room provides a warm and relaxed setting, fitting for both a neighborhood favorite and a connoisseur’s destination.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Grad Dinner!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went to The Mark for my sister's high school graduation dinner last week. We were a party of 16, and the restaurant beautifully accommodated us in a private room (this was planned before with a coordinator). We had a cocktail hour, as well as a three course dinner. The atmosphere was upbeat, happy, and lovely. The service was wonderful. The food was delicious, as well as a mocktail mojito that the they made for all of us (most of the party are non-drinkers). We the sweet pea soup was especially good, and chocolate cake for dessert. Everyone raved about their main course dishes - either chicken, beef, fish, or pasta with pesto sauce (I had the pasta and it was sooo good!). The Mark provided the perfect place for my family to celebrate my sister's accomplishments. We are excited to hopefully return for a smaller family meal in the main dining room soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    90
    38
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Design”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Mark restaurant is decorated in Craftsman style with a modern flare. We had Mother's Day brunch here and it was wonderful. Impeccable service and visually pleasing presentation of food.
I had a large whole roasted artichoke as a starter, and the mixed greens & steamed shrimp salad. My husband had the club sandwich, which was also really tasty. Their champagne & blood orange mimosas are a trendy take on a old cocktail. They were also able to accommodate my gluten and dairy free request.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bokalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a bad table, it was extremely noisy. No tablecloth on the table.. Apparently there is a part with and a part without, we were not warned.The price was certainly not "bistro". The service was awful (may be it was just bad luck but nobody showed up for a long time) and the food ok buy not memorable. I will not go back. It is not worth it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauremm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark Restaurant by Jean Georges, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It is very unfortunate to hear that your recent dinner at The Mark Restaurant left you feeling unsatisfied. Our restaurant is designed to include both an intimate lounge setting, as well as a more formal dining area. I do wish that during your visit you had mentioned your disappointment with the table you were seated at, as we would have done our best to move you to a quieter area. I would however like to apologize that you waited a long time to receive service. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact our Restaurant Manager, Sumeet Jhingan, at sumeet.jhingan@themarkhotel.com. I hope that you will return to The Mark Restaurant and request to sit in our atrium area, as I believe you will have a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a very chic venue”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What you obviously expect from a Jean George restaurant does not disappoint in the pretty setting inside the Mark hotel. Upscale menu, great wines, great service and the prices that go with all this even if not super expensive considering the average price of a chic restaurant in Manhattan. Definitely one of my favourites in the Upper East Side.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Drinks”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This particular visit to the Mark was for a nightcap(s).
The bar was full and the staff was great by letting us use the restaurant for drinks only. Service was - as always - attentive and patient.
The drink bill was $$$ but we did realize (thankfully) the tip was already included for our party of 6, which softened the blow!
Wonderful experience as always and we will go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNS0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mark Restaurant by Jean Georges also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Mark Restaurant by Jean Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing