We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #235 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location was perfect: very central and close to the theater district.
Our room on the 30th floor was comfortable, functional, and kept spotless by superb housekeeping. The skyscraper views were beautiful at night. The crown jewel of the hotel is their staff. Every member I encountered always had a smile and a pleasant greeting. They were quick to help with any inquiry.
There is no formal lobby with seating area or lobby bar in this Marriott. On the fourth floor there is a comfortable lounge where you can get Starbucks items, read a newspaper, watch TV.

I have to give a shout out to Anka who was so helpful at check in - and she followed up with us daily. Also to Carla (remarkable) and Tsetan in the Starbucks for breakfast. There are others, too, that made our stay memorable. I would stay at this Marriott again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try for a corner, high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    450
    134
    40
    26
See reviews for
253
405
55
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a new contemporary Courtyard Hotel in a great location of Manhattan. Many stores, restaurants and broadway shows are close by. The modern rooms are a nice size. We had a good view from our corner room on the 22d floor. The only complaint was the elevators. They always took a very, very long time to come.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a modern hotel facility which houses booth a Residence In and Courtyard in the same building. The rooms are fairly well-designed (although not enough plugs on and by the desk) and unusual placement of a place to put suitcase. The only downside of this hotel is the new food service facility on the 4th floor (the new Courtyard food place). The facility is terribly disorganized, with long waits for cooked breakfast (it took 25 minutes to get fried eggs) and the staff seems underprepared for customers on continual visits then the facility opens on the morning. It is also very pricey: a bagel costs $4.25 when places around the corner sell them prepared and buttered for $1.50). I stay there because I like the hotel but eat breakfast elsewhere. Very expensive hotel for a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for 06 rooms; they have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bun45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

When in NY, it's all about location and this hotel met our needs. We appreciated the numerous eating options that were near by (Trattoria dell Arte, Blue Ribbon Sushi, Carmine's to mention just a few) that were not only yummy but also fun. The hotel was quiet with well appointed rooms. There were two of us and the room was adequate for both of us. The bathroom had plenty of storage, wonderful towels and a shower that was outstanding. Comments have been made regarding the noisy sheets, it was as if they'd been starched, they didn't bother us in the least. The bed was very comfortable. The heat/AC unit was a bit noisy.

There is an outdoor balcony on the 35th floor. Great space to take pictures day or night. You walk through the gym to get to it. The gym looked very complete with wonderful views.

The fourth floor has an informal restaurant, casual seating, computers w/printers. There were never many people there and the environment felt very calm and relaxed. Great place to grab a beer, glass of wine, or coffee. They were very accommodating in making a travel lunch for us to take on the plane.

Housekeeping was a bit erratic, I think much of it is just the newness of the hotel and working out the bugs. A call was all it took to get things taken care of.

Great hotel. I would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank peg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a new hotel in a very convenient location. Excellent staff and my only complaint (and it's a big one) is the sheets on the bed. It's almost like they are made of plastic. Every time you move in the bed the sheets make a noise which made sleeping soundly almost impossible. We had a 2 bed room and between my sleeplessness and the person in the other bed experiencing the same thing we were exhausted every day we were in NYC from lack of sleep. We even had a white noise machine running and that couldn't drown out the sheet noise. Every time we turned over in the bed it woke us up. I have stayed in many Marriott's over the years but have never had this experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kitkatSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this new Courtyard over a weekend in February using points. As everyone already notes it’s a new hotel. Thought their lobby on the 4th Floor was well done and a great place to hang out until the room was ready. There was a bar and tons of private seating areas with individual tvs and personal outlets to charge devices. The overall design of hotel was very sleek and modern design and different than a standard Courtyard. The staff was very friendly and eager to help.
The rooms are small but it’s NYC so it’s what I expected as a former NYC resident. Very clean and interesting shower set-up. The bed and linens were great. The negative with the room would have to be the heating/cooling unit must have had something wrong with compressor as it made a loud sound turning on. Did not advise till we left because did not want to move and we did not spend much time in the room. Think it’s some small growing pains.
The location is great and convenient to so many things you want to do in NYC. My daughter and I did walk here from Penn Station. We also walked to the Natural History Museum on UWS. Can walk to anywhere in Times Square. We also walked to MOMA. Please keep in mind we are former New Yorkers and used to walking a lot. Think the title of this hotel is funny using Central Park. Yes, you are close and it’s walkable but the area is more like Hells Kitchen, which is a great area for local restaurants, and not the tourist traps in the center of Times Square. Staying in NYC is all about location and this new Courtyard hits the mark. Would stay here again when we come back with or without points

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, easy access to central park, times square, etc. Rooms are smaller then other courtyards but this is to be expected in New York. Great staff, nice comfortable rooms. We were 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) and booked a 2 double bed room which worked out fine. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a contemporary hotel near Central Park in exciting NYC, choose Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central park. Our hotel is a top choice among hotels near Central Park and we are also close to all of the thrilling NYC attractions throughout Midtown Manhattan. Our hotel's modern guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows to let plenty of natural light in. Select rooms have unparalleled views of Central Park, Times Square, and the Hudson River. Stay with us and enjoy an on-site restaurant and bar and the perfect home base from which to explore Manhattan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing