We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #235 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a good experience at this hotel. The positives were the friendly, efficient and helpful staff, the cleanliness of the room and the location near Central Park, Broadway, the subway and the Lincoln Centre - all within walking distance. As for the room, it was small. We had just weekend bags, but they almost overwhelmed the space available. The style is modern, and not what I would call romantic or luxurious, but our room was attractively decorated, had nice amenities, and had a great shower. I agree that the HVAC was really noisy and we could not find a way to address that except to simply turn it off, which would probably not have been an option in hotter or colder weather. I do think this hotel is good value, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    450
    134
    40
    26
See reviews for
253
404
55
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
abq, nm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently returned from staying 6 nights at the Courtyard. The hotel is new and modern; and the customer service was outstanding. Rooms are a little tight, but that is to be expected in NYC. However, from the time we checked in, the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was top notch. We had a very minor bathtub issue with a slow drain, but one call and maintenance took care of it. Housekeeping was excellent! The Courtyard location is excellent, close to Central Park, Times Square, and several different subway lines were just a couple of blocks away. Sheets were a bit noisy, but the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidS-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Residence Inn and Courtyard share very tall new building. Lobby is shared by both. One bank of 4 elevators serves the RI, the other bank of 4 serves the CY. Elevator capacity is just right for the number of rooms, no long waits.

When you get on an elevator you have to sweep your room key over a round sensor to be able to select a floor button. Same thing at your room door-no card slot to open door. All the power in the room is off until you put your key in another slot next to you bed. Energy savings.. But have no fear, room cools down fast. Being forewarned about the use of the room key to provide all those functions is necessary...otherwise you will stumble around a bit.

Rooms are smaller than most Courtyards but still ok. Overall the rooms are excellent; very clean, modern, quiet.

Best thing is location. Restaurants, delis, theaters abound in neighborhood. Subway located 4 short blocks away. Great location for dining, shopping, theater-going. You can go out to shop come back and rest and then hit a nearby restaurant prior to a show.

Only thing I'd like to see is more servers at the Starbucks on the 4th floor. Service could be faster.

Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have been to hundreds of hotels and the decorator used for these hotel rooms was the most talented decorator to date. They considered every single detail, tied all details together, and used the most innovative materials. They also maximized the spectacular view (33rd floor). We were constantly noticing small details chosen, up until the moment we were leaving. Example, orange was an accent color, used subtly on a chair pillow, a tray in the bathroom, the shower head, etc. They also knew how to maximize the small space with mirrors, floor to ceiling windows, etc. Very hip and talented. Very nice people at the front desk too.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room on one of the highest floors and on a corner. Many rooms are intentionall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Wendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here at the end of March for 3 nights but only getting around to the review now. We had two rooms, one was an -06, the largest, and the other was an -02, the smallest. And small it was! I could barely squeeze my mid-size rolling luggage between the bed and the wall! Bath in larger room - yes!!! Bath in mini-room- meh. Good views from the 12th and 21st floors, but not the Hudson or Central Park views we wanted. As others have mentioned, the noise of the HVAC unit is comparable to a Super 8-level wall-mounted unit. Marriott really dropped the ball here. I could hear the one running in the room next door- good thing I had my earplugs. I think the showers will be a problem for anyone under 5' 10", b/c the spray head is mounted so high you can't reach it to adjust it or use it as a detachable unit. And try as much as we could, we could not dial between rooms for the entire 3 days despite maintenance visiting twice. We had to use our cells. I chalked that up to the newness of the hotel- like when the elevator stalled twice. BUT- location, for us, was perfect. Lincoln Center, MOMA, Times Square, Theater District, great restaurants like Oceana and Victor's Cafe (and Per Se if you really have the $$$), Central Park, all within easy walking distance. No problem with the bedsheets, unlike others. There is late cleaning, but not a problem for us. Staff was courteous and very helpful, still working out the kinks. The 4th floor lounge- amazing! (See pics). And snacks at reasonable prices. I'll be back for the location, hands down, and next time, an -06 room!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I loved this hotel! Very beautiful and contemporary. The shower alone is worth the room rate! Hands down the best shower I've ever had. I also love the location of this hotel, couldn't be any more convenient for everything in the city. Very clean. I highly recommend.
I read a lot of reviews about the bedsheets being noisy, don't let it sway you I had no problems with that.

Room Tip: Upper floor for obviously better views, I was on the 25th
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARRECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Courtyard Marriott is a great hotel! It is situated very central near to all big touristic places (Central Park, Times Square, midtown, Moma etc.), there are several subway stations within a short walk, so you can get everywhere very easily.
We had an "06" room, the biggest one on each floor and we were more than satisfied. We had a great view in each direction through the window walls. The bathroom was big as well (with shower and bath) and we had a huge television.
My only negative experience was with the air conditioning. We stayed 8 nights in the hotel in April, it was rather cold, so we needed the airco to warm up the room every evening. And it had a horrible sound! Like aircos in the 80s! Loud, hard to regulate, not to controll, difficult to sleep when it is on. It was really annoying (= 1 star off).
Still, I would recommend the hotel (bring ear plugs with you :) ).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabriellaBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a contemporary hotel near Central Park in exciting NYC, choose Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central park. Our hotel is a top choice among hotels near Central Park and we are also close to all of the thrilling NYC attractions throughout Midtown Manhattan. Our hotel's modern guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows to let plenty of natural light in. Select rooms have unparalleled views of Central Park, Times Square, and the Hudson River. Stay with us and enjoy an on-site restaurant and bar and the perfect home base from which to explore Manhattan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing