We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #239 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My teen and I stayed here one night. I got the room the night before our stay on Priceline and the price was a little over half of what other comparable hotels were listed at. The location is good, especially if you are attending a Broadway show. At that price and given the location, the value was outstanding. It was also very clean and the beds were very good. I also liked that the elevators were controlled by room keys which is more secure. The negatives: there isn't much ambiance in the hotel itself, the room was small, the lighting poor, and the air conditioning system extremely loud. I would consider staying here again, but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    457
    139
    41
    27
See reviews for
257
414
56
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very small and we had almost no service at all
From the AC at night may come unlikely smell (smoke)
The position is good for tourist but too far from the new upcoming quartiers of soho and meatpacking and it's not worthed the price

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atena1981, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Lorella C,

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback which will be directed to the appropriate departments.

Our rooms are inimate but they have amazing views that build memorable moments. I also love our location between Central Park and Times Square. Please contact me directly when you are ready to make your next reservation.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below. Once again, please accept my apology.

Yours sincerely,

Anca M Marginean
Complex Assistant Front Office Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott NYC-Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott NYC-Central Park
Anca.marginean@marriott.com
212-324-3773 phone
646-273-7821 direct
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having had not prior experience with hotel stays in NYC, I found myself somewhat disappointed with the size of the room especially considering the high nightly rates, not ideal for hanging-out in during "down" time. Additionally, the colour scheme of the foyer and hallways was for the most part, black and dark brown, and not entirely welcoming after a late night arrival. The room, despite its small size made up in its decor, far warmer. Also, our motivation for choosing this hotel was to get good view of Time Square, which was restricted by surrounding buildings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a good experience at this hotel. The positives were the friendly, efficient and helpful staff, the cleanliness of the room and the location near Central Park, Broadway, the subway and the Lincoln Centre - all within walking distance. As for the room, it was small. We had just weekend bags, but they almost overwhelmed the space available. The style is modern, and not what I would call romantic or luxurious, but our room was attractively decorated, had nice amenities, and had a great shower. I agree that the HVAC was really noisy and we could not find a way to address that except to simply turn it off, which would probably not have been an option in hotter or colder weather. I do think this hotel is good value, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abq, nm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently returned from staying 6 nights at the Courtyard. The hotel is new and modern; and the customer service was outstanding. Rooms are a little tight, but that is to be expected in NYC. However, from the time we checked in, the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was top notch. We had a very minor bathtub issue with a slow drain, but one call and maintenance took care of it. Housekeeping was excellent! The Courtyard location is excellent, close to Central Park, Times Square, and several different subway lines were just a couple of blocks away. Sheets were a bit noisy, but the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidS-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Residence Inn and Courtyard share very tall new building. Lobby is shared by both. One bank of 4 elevators serves the RI, the other bank of 4 serves the CY. Elevator capacity is just right for the number of rooms, no long waits.

When you get on an elevator you have to sweep your room key over a round sensor to be able to select a floor button. Same thing at your room door-no card slot to open door. All the power in the room is off until you put your key in another slot next to you bed. Energy savings.. But have no fear, room cools down fast. Being forewarned about the use of the room key to provide all those functions is necessary...otherwise you will stumble around a bit.

Rooms are smaller than most Courtyards but still ok. Overall the rooms are excellent; very clean, modern, quiet.

Best thing is location. Restaurants, delis, theaters abound in neighborhood. Subway located 4 short blocks away. Great location for dining, shopping, theater-going. You can go out to shop come back and rest and then hit a nearby restaurant prior to a show.

Only thing I'd like to see is more servers at the Starbucks on the 4th floor. Service could be faster.

Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have been to hundreds of hotels and the decorator used for these hotel rooms was the most talented decorator to date. They considered every single detail, tied all details together, and used the most innovative materials. They also maximized the spectacular view (33rd floor). We were constantly noticing small details chosen, up until the moment we were leaving. Example, orange was an accent color, used subtly on a chair pillow, a tray in the bathroom, the shower head, etc. They also knew how to maximize the small space with mirrors, floor to ceiling windows, etc. Very hip and talented. Very nice people at the front desk too.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room on one of the highest floors and on a corner. Many rooms are intentionall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Wendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a contemporary hotel near Central Park in exciting NYC, choose Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central park. Our hotel is a top choice among hotels near Central Park and we are also close to all of the thrilling NYC attractions throughout Midtown Manhattan. Our hotel's modern guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows to let plenty of natural light in. Select rooms have unparalleled views of Central Park, Times Square, and the Hudson River. Stay with us and enjoy an on-site restaurant and bar and the perfect home base from which to explore Manhattan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing