We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #234 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location of the hotel is very good; it is close to most of downtown Manhattan. It takes 5 minutes to walk to Columbus Circle / Central Park and a few minutes to Times Square. I would not say that the hotel stand out either good nor bad; It's an avarage hotel of its price class.

The room did have a certain smell to it- the way a room might smell when it is very new, fresh paint or glue?, which can irretate some people who are sensitive to strong smells. The AC was quite noisy. The room is of OK size for NYC, but small in size of you compare it to many other cities. I was not too happy with the cleaning staff; came home after 5 pm one time and the room was still not maid.

The bar on the 4th floor was very nice and the staff great, it has also got a very nice view of Broadway. All in all the stay was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    441
    132
    39
    24
See reviews for
250
395
54
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My company booked me a room here on a last minute business trip. Under normal circumstances, the room would have been fine. I'd not hesitate to stay here again by myself or with my husband. The only issue was that I had to share a room with a colleague and these rooms are not ideal unless you know your roommate quite well. The rooms with two double beds are quite tight without much room to maneuver. So if you're staying here for business and you're sharing rooms with coworkers, you may want to extend your search. Otherwise, great place to stay. Convenient to everything. Friendly, helpful staff. Dinner at the onsite restaurant wasn't very good. Had a Starbucks coffee and fresh fruit at the same place the next morning - just what I needed to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

They built this hotel from the ground up just a few years ago and it shows. Stayed there in May, 2014 and it still felt new. Number one thing I liked is the location. 3 blocks from Columbus Circle and the park, just a short walk down nearby Broadway to Times Square and the theaters where we saw two shows. Number one thing I dislike now is the cost. I know NYC is costly, but its kind of ridiculous the variance in cost which makes this hotel now 10-20% more expensive then when we stayed in May. It was clean, modern, and my room was cleaned and bed made every day of the 3 days. I don't require much else

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dal-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A good modern hotel with basic/clean/appropriate amenities. Good Housekeeping services, all the days room was made up on time, providing additional amenity on time ( towels and bathroom amenities)
rooms are smaller in size, understandably in NYC, verity of TV channels available to catch up the last minute world cup semi....i pod dock with time/radio is convenient,
close to all attractions, few blocks to Time square/central park/ and good eating out places

Room Tip: ask for a corner room 9 additional charges will apply)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 867Tushara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel but not welcoming. Bar ran out of certain items like chocolate milk and bananas . Strict on break fast time I was a bit late. Girls at lounge were fabulous. Should add chairs to roof access.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Exquisitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is actually two hotels in one building: a Courtyard and a Residence Inn. The Residence Inn is actually a better deal as the rooms are much higher up. Good gym with impressive cardio equip (although you are right next to Central Park for running) Hotel also has pay laundry which is a nice plus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JPandHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Hotel is well located. Close to times square though away from its load crowd and noisy streets. Clean Hotel, good service, modern rooms (a bit small though), friendly and helpful staff. Recommended. I would stay in the hotel again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keidi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Select rooms have unparalleled views of Central Park, Times Square, and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing