We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #111 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Believe the good reviews. My husband, daughter and I stayed over the Memorial Day weekend. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotels. Well located in Manhattan close to theaters and midtown shopping. Clean, quiet room. Comfortable bed. Quality fixtures in bath. The staff were fabulous. Took wonderful care of us during our stay. They had a sense of humor too! Fetched our umbrellas from our parked car without any fuss. The bellman was so busy with holiday guests but was so nice and calm in the midst of rain and frazzled guests trying to catch cabs. The breakfast/lounge area was great - booths with personal flat screen TV's, comfortable couches and chairs. And the breakfast while not cheap was hearty and delicious. We will recommend it and we hope to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely staff in a brand new property. Located right in the middle of Manhattan to allow for strolls to south to Soho and north to Times Square and Lincoln Center.
The room was quiet, the doorman fetched cabs in the rain all weekend and the front desk staff was stellar!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martini373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Its very close to MSG and harold square. Perfect to watch Carmelo hog the ball and watch the knicks lose.

Pro:
1 New Hotel
2 Great Location
3 Decent Front Desk
4 Housekeeping helped us a lot
5 Not as much street noise as other locations in the city.
Its a solid courtyard

Con:
1 its a courtyard, so won't have facilities that a luxury hotel will have.
2 rooms are small, but it is the city and who spends time in the room.
3 towels are horrible-worst hotel towels ever.
4 suv parking is quite pricy
5 lobby can get packed easily

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2thdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed there for 8 nights. This hotel very new and centrally located in Mid-town Manhattan.
It is very close to Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and Empire State Building. We did not feel threatened in anyway and it is bang opposite the Police Station.

The rooms are clean, but small. There are plenty of towels and linen supplied everyday. There is a coffee machine,but no kettle or microwave in the rooms. We used the coffee machine to boil water. There is a microwave next to the reception which can be used. The WiFi was slow but cant complain. Downstairs there are a few computers with free printing available.

There is a Launderette and a gym in the basement. Gym is free. For the washing machine you need 8 quarters and for the dryer you need 7, which means to wash and dry a load you need $3.75. Not bad indeed. The lifts are actually good size.

We booked a King size room for 2 adults and my kid. We were not happy with just one king size bed for the 3 of us. When we asked for a supplement bed the manager said we have to pay $50 per night extra for a pull out bed. She said we should have checked when we booked whether the room could accommodate all 3 of us. She said even if we asked for 5 people for the King room she would have given us the same room!! She offered us a refund if we wanted to look for another place. After 12 hours of travelling the last thing you want is walking up and down New York with your bags looking for a room. This was the only drawback in our entire stay. In between we visited to Washington DC for a night and the hotel there gave us two large king size beds for the 3 of us which was so relaxing and refreshing.

We stayed on the 18th floor, with buildings on all the sides.There was a church which rang bells at 7 AM and served free breakfast and coffee for a huge line of homeless people. It was a very heart-warming sight to see that every morning.

Overall we had a very nice stay except for 3 of us ending up sleeping in the same bed.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the higher level, preferably facing back. Double-check the number of beds in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bipshayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean. The hotel is located in midtown...that's about it for the good points. The drawbacks are as follows: the rooms are extremely small; the view from most rooms is nothing to write home about; 30th st between 6th and 7th ave is shady and desolate at night; and there is a church with bells nearby that I'm sure woke up the entire building at 7 AM.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting New York City. I apologize that the view from your room did not meet your expectations. We try to accommodate all of our guests with the best view possible however that can be challenging at times. It is my hope that the cleanliness of our rooms and our staff service will bring you back again!

Sincerely,
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed a total of seven nights. Our room was clean and the king size bed was comfy; location was fantastic as well (five minutes walk to penn station). Everything was going smoothy until the last day of our stay. Continuous loud hacking noise (possibly generated from the renovation works within the hotel) could be heard from as early as 10.15am thus disrupting our sleep. I understand that the works must be carried out, however I believe that the management should have done a part to keep us inform regarding the renovation works and possibly the loud noise a day before.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaffizHafeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location was close to everything.....very convenient. The hotel is actually located across the street from a police station. Rooms are very "compact", but cozy and clean. I booked a 2 queen bed room, but the beds were more like double. Parking was $55.00 a night and you can only do valet...go figure! My 15 yro twins really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anangeltoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 469 in New York City
898 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
763 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 469 in New York City
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#125 of 469 in New York City
1,386 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 469 in New York City
1,852 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#60 of 469 in New York City
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Address: 135 W 30th St, New York City, NY 10001-4012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £148 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Manhattan Chelsea is located within walking distance to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Herald Square. The hotel is Silver Leed Certified and is proud of the efforts to reduce it's carbon footprint. The hotel opened in December of 2013, and is unique in design. It features 273 guestrooms that include 17 suites. It features the Table 135 Restaurant for Breakfast and has a Fitness Center onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing