We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel in the middle of Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in the middle of Manhattan”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed there during a recent business trip to NY. It is recommended by colleagues there. Price is a little steep compare to hotels in Long Island or Queens, but is average for the hotels in downtown Manhattan. The hotel is nearby train station and restaurants are plenty. It is right in the middle of actions. The room is nice and clean. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    308
    63
    14
    8
See reviews for
247
227
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here in July 2014 for business and had a great experience. Upon arrival, the staff were very friendly. After settling into my room, I realized I forgot to give the front desk my tax exemption form from my employer and a different staff member took care of it. The rooms were very updated and clean. Noise from outside wasnt an issue. The rooms are small but what hotel doesn't have small rooms in NYC?! This was to be expected. The location is great and close to the subways. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I like staying in new hotels and this one met my all my expectations. It was reasonably priced, everything worked really well, and looked very "in order". the room was not large but was big enough. the fridge was a nice add-on, and empty so that i could put my own things in. the bathroom was well outfitted, enough counter space, and the shower didn't leak.

In terms of facilities: he fitness center was bigger than expected too. Four treadmills instead of one and a decent set of weights. The staff were very friendly and there were free newspapers every day too. there was also a coin laundry room, though i didn't use it. The only complaint is the elevators -- there were three, but they all operated as slow as molasses, a problem that seems endemic in the United states, no matter how new the property is.

the location is VERY good, -- walking distance to Penn station, times square, chelsea as well as the subway. The street isn't very busy, perhaps a good thing.

Overall, excellent. Will return at the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamarx200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From check in to check out this was truly an amazing stay. The staff is hospitable, welcoming and accommodating. They are determined to ensure your stay is perfect ... and in most cases they achieve that goal.

The hotel is about 8 months old, well appointed and very clean. It has many amenities including a coin operated laundry facility (a real joy for a traveler who travels lightly), a gym, tuck shop and morning coffee/breakfast bar.

The rooms are smallish but very comfortable ... king beds, good sized bathroom with large shower, wall mounted TV, desk and small refrigerator neatly and carefully arranged within the space ... everything you need without making the room seem smaller. Any shortcoming of room size is more than compensated by great staff/service and location, location, location.

Located on W30th between 6th & 7th Avenues this Marriott is perfectly located for walking to all attractions ... Times Square and Central Park to the north, Grenwich Village and the Financial District to the South ... the Empire State, Chrysler and Freedom Tower buildings can be seen easily from several of the surrounding street. Walk west on W30th to 10th Avenue and ascend the High Line Park and walk its full length to W14th Street ... if the Park itself doesn't absolutely amaze you the scenery certainly will. This Park is among the most creative I've seen in my travels. Bring the camera ... there is much to photograph.

In the midst of the Fashion District you will find shopping and dining plentiful within a short walk of the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea.

Try it for yourself ... I am confident you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: I had a room facing W30th Street overlooking the 23rd Precinct of the NYPD and heard nothing other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. The staff and I are glad you enjoyed everything NYC has to offer. We look forward to having you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,676 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Property is new in the last year. Rooms are small but functional with good sized bathrooms. Bed was very comfortable. Floors are small (like 8-10 rooms) so not much noise. Front of building has good views of One World Trade (aka Freedom Tower) and back side has views of a nice church (which you should check out). Staff was excellent. The GM runs a good crew and location. Good location being very close to Penn Station and everything else within a short walk.

Room Tip: 21st floor is top
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thnk you for taking the time to share your recent stay and how much you enjoyed it. Our team works hard to insure our guests have a great stay at the hotel. As you experienced, our hotel has some great views of the NYC Skyline. We are also located just a block from Penn Station, which allows you to go to many of the sights NYC has to offer via Subway, LIRR or NJ Transit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I flew into the city with my daughter, having spent two nights in the air and arrived at the hotel before 8am. When booking, I'd requested to leave bags before checking in, so was thrilled to have the hotel offer us a room straight away. We hadn't expected this, so it was greatly appreciated. The room was practical and well designed and quiet. No frills, but very adequate, clean and modern. Very comfy beds! Good to have internet included free in room. Friendly, welcoming staff. Always a smile and a door opened ready for you when arriving with bags.

When returning for our second stay we were offered a twin room, which wasn't available when I'd booked and wasn't requested - how nice was that? Big thank you to the intuitive staff!

Great location meant we could walk, wheeling large bags, to Penn for the E subway through to an Airtrain connection. Everything was so handy. Nice neighbourhood with good eating options on the corners and great shopping. A short walk away from the High Line too.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were at the back of the hotel each time. Heard no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeeBee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for sharing the great feedback about your recent stay with us. Our team works hard to meet and exceed our guest expectations It sounds like you had some fun and were able to see the Highline. This is only a short walk and really is a unique experience. Look forward to a return stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The rooms are not as tight as I imagined and the bathrooms are surprisingly generous in size -- for a city location. Strong wifi in the rooms, nice lobby and breakfast area. Short walk to Koreatown, retail stores, restaurants/cafes, groceries/pharmacy and the subway. I would stay here again on my next visit to New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelnow2011db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the recent feedback about your stay with us. I was glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and what it has to offer. Yes, we are located close to all Manhattan has to offer, from Korea Town, Herald Square, Macy's, Empire State Building or Times Square. There is truly something for everyone. The staff and I look forward to your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#163 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 135 W 30th St, New York City, NY 10001-4012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Manhattan Chelsea is located within walking distance to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Herald Square. The hotel is Silver Leed Certified and is proud of the efforts to reduce it's carbon footprint. The hotel opened in December of 2013, and is unique in design. It features 273 guestrooms that include 17 suites. It features the Table 135 Restaurant for Breakfast and has a Fitness Center onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing