We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Really lovely hostel. Nice, clean rooms. Quiet, great breakfast, free wifi, free luggage storage! What more could one ask for! A bit on the pricey side but definately worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 938ClaireL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    111
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
24
42
81
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's becoming like my 2nd home in my home away from home. I love NY, but it is SO expensive... this place is decently priced, centrally located on the east side (if the Met is as far north as you'd go and Battery Park as far south), clean with friendly staff. All other considerations are really beside the point; you are in NYC, all you need is a comfortable base of operations and a nice place to sleep. Just remember to ask for the outside door-code, if on the odd chance the door is locked at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theBigBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Excellent location, right in the Village! Also close to the trains. We had a room with bunk beds but the bottom bunk was big enough for us both. The breakfast was also great, with eggs, bread, juice, coffee, fruits, cereal etc. They keep the bathrooms very clean, we were lucky enough to be on the 3rd floor, when there wasn't much occupancy, so we basically had the bathrooms to ourselves. The rooms is provided with a small tv and sink. There are no closets, just a small area to hang some clothes. This is a great place to stay for a few days to enjoy the city! Also a great value!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here for one night because they were fully booked the 2 previous nights I was in NYC. What a shame for me! When I arrived I was met by a very friendly and generous receptionist.

I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm which was spacious and impeccably clean. There were a number of toilets and showers on our floor, all of which were clean and spotless.

Also in the hostel was a kitchen, 2 computers with internet and a printer (useful for printing out those boarding passes!)

It was a quiet place and the location was great, about 2 blocks from the 6 train and near all sorts of small eateries. This was the nicest hostel I've stayed in and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DovPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The American Dream Hostel is a great place to stay. Its a nice place to come back to after long busy days in the city. Its a cross somwhere between a hostel and a bed and breakfast. It is small and home like. The staff is excellent. Very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The rooms are a bit small, but clean and secure. They come with tv's, radios, and air conditioners and I felt very safe. The breakfast is excellent. Above and beyond what I was expecting.

Room Tip: There are bathrooms on all three floors, so if it is being used on your floor, just go up or down st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynds27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hostel was very clean and the rooms quite spacious. It is right near the empire state building and the brooklyn subway. There are lockers too. The hostel had alot of older residents so if you are looking to party this is not the place for you. The free breakfast was always amazing and the internet facilities were also good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights last week, and have to admit we were solidly impressed by this little hostel (which, as others say, is really somewhere between hostel and B&B). The first night my partner and I were in Rm 7 on the ground floor, which had a double bed with a single bunk above ($119). It was very clean, modern and well appointed, the air con was much appreciated, but could do with a heavier curtain to block the lights from the street at night.

Unfortunately, the next morning I caught a bedbug walking over the sheets (easy to see as the linens are hotel standard bright white cotton). I had searched the mattresses for signs of bugs on check-in and was relieved to have not found any, so was very disappointed to discover that even this place was infested. I washed it down the sink and told reception, and I hope they manage it before it gets out of control. The mattresses do not show signs of infestation so hopefully the problem is still low-level. I found the telltale bite on my elbow the following day. Needless to say all my belongings will be laundered in a high heat dryer before allowing them back in my house.

The 2nd night I stayed alone in Rm 23 on the 2nd floor ($79). This room (with a single set of bunk beds) was slightly more depressing, as it was windowless and dark, but still clean, and had a sink and tv inside the room. No sign of bugs and no bites that night, thankfully. The bathrooms on the 2nd floor are kind of comically tiny, tucked into the wall like cupboards, but they are very clean and newly built, and very well furnished. Little touches like q-tips and cotton balls by the sinks were really a cut above. I never had to wait for a shower and the water pressure was great. In the shower downstairs the hot water seemed to be going in and out, perhaps there was another one going at the same time.

Lastly, the breakfasts here really are extraordinary. When I stayed, they had cereals, toast, juices, pancakes, bacon, eggs, and all kinds of other random stuff like olives, edamame, dried fruits, and tonnes more I can't remember. (Personally, I have never come across marinated bocconcini at a hostel before!) Plus there seemed to be snacks and junk food galore if you wanted it. I was happy that the guests were all mostly quiet as well, it didn't have that "youth hostel" party vibe, even though there were plenty of backpacker types about.

This place is quite homey, and the owner and staff are low key and chill. I needed to leave my bags on the day I checked out and they had no problem with it. If the luggage bupboard is full (which is well ad truly was) you can leave your stuff at reception, which I thought was safer anyway. Free wi-fi is great. (Plus there was a computer room if you don't have your laptop) The location is awesome. 10min walk to Union Square, subway stations all around, 24hr pharmacies on every block and lots of late night food options.

Generally a relaxed and respectful place, but get the exterminators in! I would have unequivocally given it 5 stars if not for that, and the fact that I still gave in 4 in spite of it says a lot, because bedbugs are repulsive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 466 in New York City
4,848 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 466 in New York City
1,546 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 466 in New York City
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 466 in New York City
659 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 466 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#149 of 466 in New York City
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Property: American Dream Hostel
Address: 168 E 24th St, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010-3703
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing