We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hole in a wall”
Review of Sole di Capri

Sole di Capri
Ranked #3,319 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: TriBeCa
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: TriBeCa
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great little hole in a wall”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Sole di Capri is tiny, and I mean tiny. There are only a handful of tables and because the food is so good, and known in the neighborhood, tables are sometimes tough to come by. The good news is that SdC is expanding into the vacant space next door. The bad news is that some of its intimacy and charm may be lost. Hopefully, the food stays constant. The menu is not large. But the Italian entrees are cooked with love.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Almost like being there”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have been to the Italian isolo Capri and tasted the fresh tomatoes and lemons in many local dishes which are difficult if not impossible to find here even in NYC but ... at Capri Cafe the pena il sole de capri is made w cherry tmatoes packaed and sent to the restaurant by the owners parents. Couple that with very reasonable prices and wonderful special of the day and you get the best place for lunch in the tribeca section. Its is small and not aesthetically endowed but they always accomodate and its worth it if you love wonderful Italian.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB777NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, an Italian Trattoria downtown”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

They do a brisk lunch business. We live in the neighborhood and go for dinner, they also deliver. Be sure to make a reservation as it gets very busy. Tiny, cosy, quaint, Italian restaurant; antipasto bar, home made pastas & mozzarella cheese (must try). Chef cooks to order & uses all fresh ingredients. They always have one vegan soup (and vegetarian options). Almost feels like being in a Trattoria in Italy. Owned by two Italian brothers (one is the chef, the other runs the restaurant & takes your order). Reasonable prices. NYC visitors: a great choice if you are visiting Ground Zero. Definitely recommend for atmosphere, and fresh delicious food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary10007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Impersonal service, good food”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This restaurant is extremely tiny with tables elbow-to-elbow and at lunch time it fills up fast, so go a little early. The prices were moderate but even though I'm not a fan of the huge portions so many other places serve, I thought the portions could have been a little bigger for the money. I had the rigatoni "aumm" as it was spelled on the menu. The sauce was excellent, it reminded me of my grandma's sauce. I could wish that they had been a little more generous with the chunks of eggplant. Unfortunately, my pasta was so undercooked I had to send the dish back. I made a valiant effort to chew some but it was way beyond "al dente." They took it back with no comment and after a while brought me another plate of it that was cooked through but still firm. If you like your pasta on the soft side it would be better to say so when you order. My friend had the manicotti, which I tasted, and it was delicious. The service was brisk and unsmiling, and the food took a while to arrive. I attribute the delay to its being made fresh. I found it a little disconcerting that such a cozy, quaint place had such a chilly, distant ambiance. There was no warmth to be had except on the plate. But on the plus side, even though the place was busy, we never felt rushed. I would like to go there again and try the soups or some of the daily specials. It was good enough to deserve another visit. The bottom line is, if you don't need the waiter to be your friend, if you don't need to gobble down a whole pound of bland, second-rate pasta, and if you want freshly prepared, authentic-tasting food, you will probably like the Capri Cafe.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stopped here for lunch, it is worth noting that it is only open til 3.30pm on weekdays and it reopens in the evening. They only take cash and there is no public restroom. The food was delicious, freshly made and with lovely ingredients. Its a small place so if you wanted to eat there in the evening I would recommend booking ahead.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlenel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sole di Capri also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sole di Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing