We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not hesitate! Great hotel either for leisure or business!”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #160 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in April at the Hotel on Rivington and I would not hesitate to recommend me to colleagues, friends and family. The Hotel is ideally located in lower east side, 1 minute walk from the subway straight to Times Square, Central Park or the WTC. Soho, which is great for evening bars or restaurants, is just a couple of blocks and a nice walk!
The staff is very helpful and always with the smile, they helped me with directions or recommendations. The rooms are spacious and very quiet (mine was on the 15th floor with an amazing view over NYC!).
If you go to NYC for business or for leisure, do not hesitate to try that hotel...
The breakfast area is cool and propose different possibilities. You have free drinks in the hotel lounge and the penthouse area on the roof is amazing. Grocery just next door as well as plenty of nice bars & restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurent066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi laurent066! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice 5 Circle Review! We enjoyed having you stay with us and are so happy that you had a great time. Sounds like you were busy during your stay, from the WTC to Central Park and everywhere in between. Glad that we were your "home base" and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Finding the hotel was problematic - no signage above door and entering this was akin to entering a cave. Décor of black and red in hallways and black bathrooms made me wonder if they renting by the hour. This is the first time I have had a $200 hold on my credit card for the bar even though I had prepaid the room. The faux fur throws on the coaches made me make a mental note to pack my uv light for inspection on future check ins.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trek_doc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hello Trek_doc_12, we appreciate your review, guest feedback is always a valuable tool. Hotel on Rivington is proud of our unique design in the crowded luxury lifestyle hotel market in New York City. The white cave-like structure is informally dubbed “the egg-trance” - an actual art installation that extends from the ground floor lobby entrance into our adjacent bar and lounge.
Even the custom mosaic design of the Bizazza tile and wall treatments have been copywritten by Marcel Wanders studio. A natural fit to the eclectic and inspiring Lower East Side.
The credit card holds are an opportunity to establish a line of credit so you can easily charge services to your guest room.
Thank you for your review and best wishes,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you want to live in Lower East, this is a perfect place.
We had some initial troubles with the rooms, but noted this and the staff then showed their proffesionality and fixed it all.

This is the way to run a business.

The hotel is a safe bet if you wanna live in LES.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doktorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello doktorkit! Thank you so much for your kind review. Im very proud that our team was able to recover after your issues at check-in and turn a difficult situation into a positive one! We care about every aspect of each guest's unique stay and strive to deliver 5 Star service at all times.
Thank you for sharing your experience!

We hope to host you again next time you come to NYC!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Tremendous hotel in LES. Easy Check In, Friendly service. Very nice soft colour rooms with the best beds I have ever stayed on. Stayed for a couple nights and loved the daily cookie service as well as the complimentary wine hour. Really fun neighbourhood to poke around in and find some gems.

Room Tip: Top floor corner king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Well, hi Laura B! Thank you so much for your sweet 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor. We love hearing from our guests and are so glad to here you enjoyed yourself. Our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses with Frette linens and YES, we love them too!
Is 6 hours of complimentary wine service too many hours? Nah, we didn't think so either... :)

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We first stayed at the Hotel on Rivington because our daughter was working a few blocks away, but even though her job has moved, we keep going back. The hotel has a great location on the Lower East Side (lots of action, lots of restaurants), with subway stop nearby. It's an easy walk to the East Village, West Village or Chinatown. Rooms are cool looking with lights on dimmers and super comfy mattresses and linens. The high floor kings have floor to ceiling windows with breathtaking views. The bridges lit up at night are gorgeous. Yummy cookies are delivered each evening. You might expect an aloof staff at such a hip hotel but everyone, from door guys to reception, is really friendly and makes us feel at home. We always look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Corner high floor kings are spacious and have incredible views. Some rooms have deep soaking tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoutT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Greetings, ScoutT2014! Thank you so much for your kind 5 Circle Review! We love getting feedback and are so happy to hear from a return guest regarding another comfortable stay. :)

WE look forward to having YOU back too!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed five nights in a King Corner room with tub on the 14th floor facing south and west. The views that met us each evening when coming back from dinner was nothing less than spectacular. We could actually see from downtown all the way up to the Times square area. The room itself was very comfortable and cool looking although, as others have mentioned, it shows some wear and tear (goes for the rest of the hotel as well). The location is almost perfect. Away from the tourist traps but close to lots of places. For example SoHo is a 10-15 minute walk and just around the corner you have a tube station taking you uptown in 15-20 minutes. If you want to save money and arrives at JFK you can take the Air train to Jamaica station and then you take the J metro to Delancey/Essex street.
Most of the staff at the hotel are service minded but one of the guys at breakfast wasn't to inspired.
TV channels did not work while we stayed but they offered us a free movie to compensate.
Highly recommend this place for its location and views!

Room Tip: King Corner on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi ThomasBergen! Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. Coming from a Top Contributor such as yourself, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are always making upgrades to make sure we are in tip-top shape but the views speak for themselves. From the Battery to the Empire State Building our sweeping views are hard to beat.
Hope to have you back on Rivington Street soon!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Being a native New Yorker, I'm fascinated with the evolution of the Lower East Side. Something new every time I visit. The Hotel on Rivington is a perfect home base in the heart of it all. Sleek, minimalistic rooms, generous size for NY, helpful staff, cool restaurant/bar, etc., Good deals through Jetsetter.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel for quiet. Views only on floors 7 and higher, preferably wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 312-415-212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi 312! Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor! We love to have native New Yorkers at the hotel. They seem to appreciate the oasis that is Hotel on Rivington in a different way than our out of town guests (who of course we also love!). The neighborhood is forever changing and we are just enjoying the ride here in the LES. So glad you enjoyed yourself here. Dont be a stranger!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#76 of 469 in New York City
704 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#69 of 469 in New York City
683 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#215 of 469 in New York City
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#216 of 469 in New York City
729 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#199 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#321 of 469 in New York City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £167 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing