We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel on Rivington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Redford Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sago Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orchard Street Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SIXTY LES(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ridge Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Windsor Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveller rating
765
397
142
80
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
397
142
80
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower east sidefloor to ceiling windowssoaking tubcorner kingwilliamsburg bridgehigh floornew yorkmemory foamcomplimentary winebars and restaurantstrendy hotelthe penthouseturn down servicemini barfreedom toweraround the cornergreat neighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
617 - 622 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Another year, another nice weekend. Cool, clean room. Great shower, fluffy robe. Pleasant staff. Arranged and delivered my wife's flowers. Welcome cocktail. Free vino, acqua e frutta still, but not brought to the room anymore. Still worth every penny.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi Leonardo F! We appreciate your lovely 5 Circle Review! We love hearing from our guests and want to thank you for your loyalty to Hotel on Rivington.

We are looking forward to your next visit, we'll be sure to roll out the red carpet!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The front entrance was a little grungy and the elevator seemed to have issues but once we got to the check-in desk things got better. The customer service was very good and the rooms were awesome. I liked the modern design and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a little dark which makes it hard for a girl to put on her make up but that's a first world problem. The best part was the Davines bath products. I would def stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Greetings from NYC, Nicki B! Thank you so much for your kind 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Lower East Side. We loved having you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Just FYI: the lights in the bathroom are on a teeny dimmer switch next to the button. We'll be sure to turn it up for you next time. :) A girl is allowed to have "first-world problems" here!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked this hotel well in advance, carefully choosing the room we wanted; a high floor corner king with balcony. When we arrived, weary from our 9 hour drive, we were told that they had a "better" room for us. The room didn't have a balcony, so we asked for one with a balcony, like we wanted. We were taken to another room, which still wasn't the room we booked, but we were too tired to change at that point. This room was smaller than the one we booked, and wasn't the corner room with the 2 glass walls for the view. We looked out onto the parking lot. The next morning, we went to the front desk to speak to the manager. We were told there was no manager there, but one would definitely contact us as soon as possible. Needless to say, we checked out a couple of days later and no one got in touch with us. The staff kept telling us that our room is a better room than we booked, but this was not the case! For us, the room we wanted was the room we booked, which we never got. What a frustrating experience. No manager to speak to? I've never had that happen to me before! I felt very blown off! I won't be staying here again, nor recommending anyone to stay here. Expensive and no customer service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank AdventureGirl0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello AdventureGirl0609, I understand your frustrations and apologize for the customer service you received. We are on a guest service "mission" of sorts and I guess we came up short in your case. The room category you booked was unavailable due to an extension of another guest and we had upgraded you to one of our Unique Suites as an alternative. We hoped you'd enjoy the extra square footage or the deep soaking tub but you are right, we could not supply the room type you reserved and therefore are sorry for your disappointment.

We would love to try to win you back as a guest and would be happy to make arrangements for a future stay with a complimentary upgrade to a room with a balcony and corner view.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is actually one of the most reasonably priced and comfortable in NYC. The location is great and the views are wonderful. I have stayed here at least three times and things are becoming a bit shabby and worn down. I like the concept a lot, especially the idea that an exceptionally comfortable bed, good bathrooms and high quality sheets and products should suffice for a good stay. couple that with some great views, you've got a winner. It just doesn't look fresh anymore, and the breakfast and restaurant facilities are also lacking in inspiration. Get a discount, or otherwise, wait for when somebody revamps this place, its got potential.

Room Tip: get a high floor corner king, otherwise its quite unexceptional.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello LondonWoohoo, thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. They are a useful tool for us to hear feedback on what we are doing right and what we need to work on. We are constantly making upgrades in an effort to keep the hotel in tip-top condition. After 10 years here in the Lower East Side we are still the leading hotel in the area and aim to be for years to come.

We'd love to welcome you back anytime and hope to impress you even more.

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Love the hotel and location! We had booked via Jetsetter for our first 2 stays and just booked advance purchase for our 3rd directly thru Hotel for August. Everyone that you come in contact with at the hotel is so accommodating and a night cap at the bar is a great way to end the evening out. Beds are extremely comfortable and the views are spectacular in the high king rooms. The location is perfect and walking distance to all of our favorite spots in the LES. Looking forward to our return in August, it can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CCurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi CCurley! We love hearing from TripAdvisor's Senior Contributors and are so please to land your stellar 5 Circle Review! Our staff is always trying to go above and beyond and we're glad you noticed. Thanks! Our beds are Tempur-Pedic and are a HUGE hit with all of our guests, glad to hear you slept well.

Looking forward to rolling out the red carpet in August!

All the Best,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews