We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper in Chinatown”
Review of Joe's Ginger

Joe's Ginger
Ranked #9,227 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Supper in Chinatown”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Small restaurant with seating on the two floors. Second dining room and washroom on 2nd floor. The place was packed and we shared a large table with another couple. The steamed dumplings appetizers were very nice. The mu Shu pork was nice. The prices were reasonable and the service was quick.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hanford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    12
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food very pricy”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

It is not worth it. I would advise anyone to go somewhere else

Helpful?
Thank Mastered84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Skip this restaurant - very bland food”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We tried 3 different dishes: Mu Shu Pork, Vegetable Dumplings, Ginger Chicken. All were not very good. Dumplings were not edible - the middle tasted like basil and only basil. Mu Shu was bland. Ginger chicken was in a sauce that was very pink. Couldn't tell you what it was. Would skip this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimilabush_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thought it was Joe's Shanghai”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had read online about 'Joe's Shanghai' which is one of the top rated Chinese food places in NYC but when we saw Joe's Ginger we thought we'd gotten the name wrong. We had Beef and Broccoli which was quite good, pork fried noodles which was crispy and delicious, and general tao chicken which is usually spicy but wasn't spicy here at all.

So the food was good but not great or better then anywhere else we've been for chinese. The service wasn't great they made us feel hurried and kept pushing us to order when we hadn't had time to look at the menu. I don't plan to go back to this restaurant when we return to NYC.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Just Okay.”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

OK food, don't expect more..the price is right for what they offer : simple chinese food : not too greasy, light and tasty. When spicy is mentioned they mean spicy. So, don't be mistaken.
Staff is correct but not overfriendly. English isn't fluently spoken here either.
Whatever you order : they bring it all together at the same time.
For 2 beers, 1 house wine, 2 appetisers and 2 main courses we paid 70 USD, which (in my opinion) is a fair price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Wanderer_Like_You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Ginger also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Joe's Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing