We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beijing duck”
Review of Peking Duck House

Peking Duck House
Ranked #1,128 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beijing duck”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice experience! We had a Beijing duck in Beijing and this one was vey similar! The chef slices the duck in front of you and you eat with Chinese tortillas. It's worth it!

Helpful?
Thank DriBoera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    199
    59
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Peking Duck as its Best”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

For many years we have eaten here whenever we feel like enjoying a perfectly cooked "Peking Duck Dinner" and it never disappoints. My daughter-in-law and her Chinese family love dining here. Their other dishes like like sesame chicken, string beans or perfectly cooked tender ham hock and cold duck feet are just as delicious. We have never had unsatisfactory service. A funny side story: The floor in front of the ladies room was wet and the manger and a waiter literally carried my teenage daughter across the floor to prevent a slip, slide and fall!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
364 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

8 of us went to this restaurant for a late lunch. The place was packed as it looked like their were tour groups there. We were able to be seated in a fairly fast time. The food and service were excellent. "Do not" miss their Peking Duck it was great and the presentation was wonderful. Highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice but not the best”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went here having bee a few years ago and enjoyed it. However not as good this time. The waiter was rather abrupt and bordering on rude really. The food was tasty and lots of it but far too greasy for my liking. They wouldn't do half duck unless we had the set menu which I was disappointed about. It seems that it is a little over rated and I suspect there are far better places in this area. I would also say that it was very expensive for what we had and having eaten in Bejing it doesn't compare I'm afraid.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scranman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, Slo Country
Level Contributor
317 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“it's stood the test of time”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

whenever we're in new york, we make a point of checking in here. the only way to be disappointed is to over-order. peking duck is naturally the dish to order; a whole duck is cut up in a little ceremony by a chef. they used to roll it in a pancake for you, but now it's diy. either way, it's excellent. don't order a peking duck dinner...way too much food. sesame noodles are very good as is almost everything. there were 10 of us and we weren't crowded. make sure you're seated on ground level...downstairs in the basement is not a good area. also, you can bring your own wine...i guess they've figured out that there choice of two terrible wines just doesn't make it for lots of folks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeyeatsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peking Duck House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Peking Duck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing