We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best NYC breakfast”
Review of Sunflower Diner

Sunflower Diner
Ranked #6,761 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Manhattan
Bergamo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the best NYC breakfast”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I had breakfast in differenti diners andò cafes when I was
Living in NYC, but the sunflower breakfast has always been the best. Banana and blueberries pancakes my favourite.
Not bad the deluxe mushroom burger. Always ask for their French fries!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SilviettaCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place except for a nasty Greek lady attending the tables”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had been going to have breakfast at this diner for our last three years vacation.
Wonderful food, nice and cozy place and acceptable prices.
During our last three visits, we had a misunderstanding with this Greek old lady who thought we had not tip her (though her bad service) and made a scene asking in a more than rude way if in our country and tell us that we must tip her. After that we made her notice we had done it and she left without saying a word.
After that we went to this place once more and we noticed this lady again telling the rest of the nice waiters that they should be careful because we didn´t tip.
You can imagine after these events we wont visit the place anymore. Unfortunately due to avoid this rude and nasty lady..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nappy312741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Potatoes”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Warm, friendly place to be, with a mix of regulars and visitors. Good, varied menu with fairly speedy service.

This might sound funny, but the home fried potatoes were by far the best I had in New York.

Generous portions made this a really good place for breakfast.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect breakfast in NYC!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Huge pancakes with juicy berries, maple syrup, eggs Benedict, home fries and huuuuge slices of French toast. Plus the coffee keeps flowing. All served in diner booths. Perfect!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
1,100 reviews
660 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, disappearing coffee shop”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is the real deal. Solo regulars. Breakfast is best. Try the oatmeal. Very, very accommodating staff. You may start to call one "Mom."

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunflower Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sunflower Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing