We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner after our show”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Cielo

Caffe Cielo
Ranked #6,342 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Btwn. 52nd and 53rd st.
Transit: 1/C/E to 50th St.
San Diego
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice dinner after our show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Great food and service after seeing "Wicked" Very solid restaurant at a reasonable price

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The salmon salad and bread I ordered were awful. I was sick for the rest of the day. The service and decor were above average for the location, but the food was incredibly bad and made me sick.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Plan on Getting to your show on time...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

The food is good (not great) but the timing is poor. So... unless you allot two-plus hours for dinner find a place more efficient.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhtr222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northvale, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Went to see "Jersey Boys" just around the corner from this restaurant.
Nice decor, great food and excellent sevice. Stracciatella soup was great and three different veal dishes were tender and well prepared as well as the lamb chops.
Staff made sure we had plenty of time to make the curtain.
Another tip is parking for both the show and restaurant was around 100 feet from the theater on 52nd street at Central Parking. With a coupon from their site, fee was $17 for 6 hours.

Helpful?
Thank nj1jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely end to a busy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

After a rainy, busy day of sightseeing, we were hoping to find a good restaurant near our hotel. And we did!! Caffe Cielo is very inviting from the street, and continues to be inviting and comforting once you're inside. We loved that the front windows open up onto the street, making you feel like you're dining on a patio. The salads (insalata mista) were nice and fresh with a good vinaigrette. My gnocchi was just perfect--nice plump little pillows that avoided being mushy, and were just pleasantly firm--just as they should be. My husband's pasta was excellent. Service was pleasant and attentive. We noticed that they were very accommodating to customers who were headed to the theater, making sure that meals and bills were presented promptly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nothometoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Cielo also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Caffe Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing