We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fave continues to deliver”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lumi Restaurant - CLOSED

Lumi Restaurant
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 70th Street
Transit: The 6 and F Subway trains and the M66, M96, M101, M102 and M103 buses.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fave continues to deliver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We've eaten here off and on over many years, and the food has been consistently very good. The ravioli with shiitakes is great, as is the fettucine with 2 types of sausage...the main change we've seen is the influx of Russian speakers on the staff. A great neighborhood place, cozy on a cold December night, a short walk from the Metropolitan, Frick, Central Park, etc. I recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bonita springs, fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We only went to Lumi tonight because it was convenient to where we are staying. We had hoped to go to Antonucci but couldn't get in. Having lived in NYC for over thirty years before moving, we have had a great deal of experience eating here.

We ordered two of the "specials": risotto with shrimp which was medicore but edible and the filet of sole which was I don't know what, but not anything like any sole I have ever eaten or prepared..in edible. The presentation of warmed up potatoes and garlic spinach thrown on the plate were equally unappealing. When asked if I would like something else, I opted to share my husband's risotto instead, and asked for a complimentary glass of house wine. Did not happen. We did not complain and were happy to leave. IN MHO this is a tired restaurant in the midst of many that offer good food and just as good energy.

Helpful?
Thank mkb0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good enough for a pleasant meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We happened upon Lumi on our way back from the Met on 31 October. Our reservation at Balthazar had fallen through due to power outage in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, so we were pleased to see tables available at this delightful looking Italian restaurant. We chose to sit outside with our young children so they could admire the Halloween costumes, and also to avoid disturbing other diners. Service was friendly but slow - perhaps this was due to being seated outside. There were ample interesting choices on the menu (as well as options plain enough to appeal to fussy eaters) and the food was enjoyable, although not inspiring. Overall this is a solid choice if you happen to be visiting Museums on the Upper East Side and desire a pleasant and comforting meal at the end of the day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dove7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A New York restaurant that knows how to cook steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We sort of lucked into finding this small neighborhood type restaurant and I am so glad I did. We were early for dinner, arounf 5pm, however, the service was excellent as well as the food being prepared just as we ask. Wonderful. We have found our new favorite New York restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PenmanBelvidere_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I am surprised by the strongly worded negative reviews below. We dropped in for lunch last week after wandering in the New York swelter for a few blocks. We accosted a neighborhood resident on the street, and she recommended Lumi. We were the only patrons at around noon; by 1:00 there was one more table. August. The food, while not out of the world, was quite good. The house sauvignon blanc was decidedly not watered, and it too was pretty good. The servers were extremely attentive (and why not, with no one else there). We had no complaints whatsoever. But then what do we know, we're from New Jersey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snilesdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumi Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing