We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Jazz”
Review of Birdland

Birdland
Ranked #6 of 862 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Jazz”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If your a true Jazz fan, then you have to go to Birdland. The music was OUTSTANDING. My only suggestion is to make reservations and to get in line early. The seats are first come first serve.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    121
    28
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jazz at its finest”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Enjoyed a double header on a Friday night. Firstly sat in the front row for the Birdland Big Band session and it actually felt like we were sitting in with the band. We would thoroughly recommend a visit just to experience the musicianship and feel the energy flowing out of this band.
The next session involved some jazzers that have been around for a very long time called Quest. Again, exceptional musicianship and a lesson in how jazz should be played.
Also enjoyed dinner which was well priced and well served.
We would recommend a visit to one of the Jazz World Heritage Sites.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yodel_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

You can feel the history when you walk in. It has the vibe of a super club of back in the day. Drinks on the pricey side but ambiance was wonderful (all little candles, white tablecloths) and the music...oh man! Sound is awesome. Its the place to go for a wonderful evening of music and ambiance and just kicking back and letting mellow set in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool jazz venue”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My girlfriend and I went to the late show after a long day of sightseeing. We arrived slightly late and were welcomed and taken to our table very quickly. All the tables are very close to the stage and it was just a cool NY night's entertainment. I can't say I'm very well-versed in jazz, but I thought the playing was excellent, and I really enjoyed the environment as well as the music - the cocktails weren't too bad either!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PunterX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and music!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Well worth the visit. My wife and I went there for a meal and also to enjoy the band that was on. Food was great and huge portions!

We had a good seat and the music was great. Service was also very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank akitmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdland also viewed

 

Been to Birdland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing