We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An economical tasty alternative to expensive hotel food”
Review of Longwood Gourmet - CLOSED

Longwood Gourmet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An economical tasty alternative to expensive hotel food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

When we're in the city, usually for conferences, staying at one of the area hotels (Waldorf, Marriott, Intercontinental, Doubletree, etc.), we always stop here for breakfasts or lunches. Good selection of cooked foods, sandwhiches, great salad bar, also a hot food bar. Always tasty and much cheaper than at the hotel. Good selection of beverages, nice gelato dessert. They do have more tables in the back, in addition to the dozen or so in the front.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judyineaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kbird
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you don't want to pay the high hotel prices for breakfast or lunch, visit here. Longwood has grill to order eggs, bagels, pancakes, etc. They also have buffet items to choose from. Huge selection of bottled drinks. Place is also good for a quick lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbird87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Did not care for this place...”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The food here was underwhelming but cheap, guess we got what we paid for. It was close to our hotel was the only up side. They were out of French toast and only had mediocre pancakes. Also there is only like 7 small tables inside so there may not even be a table for you to sit at. We only ate here once, we enjoyed breakfast at Starbucks in the hotel every morning after that for the same price!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EZYBRYZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
664 reviews
527 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good option for a quick meal”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've eaten here several times over the years, as I stay at the hotel across the street for a conference. Like a number of NYC shops, this has a hot food bar and also an extensive salad bar. There are many different options and my best suggestion is to go earlier in the day when the food has not been sitting out for hours and hours. I had several of the "Chinese" entrees (I put quotes because this is on the level of Panda Express). The store has a great selection of sodas, bottled teas, and other drinks and lots of snacks, cookies, and chocolates. It is easy to pop in, get your food and get out. There are tables to eat in or you can of course take it away. Not really gourmet, but it's very good on average and a reasonably priced NYC meal. PS- this place is open 24 hours!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaneoheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food selection & value”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I've eaten at Longwood Gourmet several times and always loved the great salad bar and hot food selection ($7.99/lb). Sandwiches & grill too. Quick and helpful service. Nice seating too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenFanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longwood Gourmet also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing