We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The current Chicago cast is awesome!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Theatre

Ambassador Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$128.75*
and up
Chicago On Broadway
Ranked #194 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The current Chicago cast is awesome!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We just saw Chicago at the Ambassador and the current cast is awesome. The staff at the Ambassador kept this from being a 5 rating. They were rather rude in keeping people from using the bathroom after the show and herded people out like cattle. The theatre size is perfect for an intimate play setting. The old theatre is grand but could use a face lift as the ceiling paint is coming off in sizable layers. The play was a 5 star plus and the actress that played Roxie was outstanding. We enjoyed our time here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasLSUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    58
    33
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring it ON”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Outstanding environment. Excellent acoustic. Good plays over there are a must. Tickets should be bought in advance, just in case, you know???

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moisés de Freit... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Saw Chicago here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This theater was a lot smaller than I expected, but I think that means no seat is a bad seat. I sat in the front row which was really too close but overall it was a lovely old theater. The staff all seemed surly and I don't think any of them enjoyed their job. Don't trust google directions to get you there though, you're better off inputting the exact address rather than Ambassador Theater.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Play was fun, theater needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We enjoyed Chicago at the Ambassador overall, but wo days earlier we had attended "Phantom" at the Majestic, and the contrast between the two theaters, and productions, was startling. The Ambassador is considerably smaller, and has a more tired, run-down feel to it. Bathroom facilities are upstairs and small, thus long lines develop quickly. The staff seemed more abrupt and less welcoming here than at the Majestic, and were borderline rude with the patrons the day we were there. We love the play Chicago, and it didn't disappoint this day, but we were struck by the lack of scenery changes of any kind - the orchestra is on risers on-stage the entire play. That lack of variation grew a bit tiresome for me. But the acting and singing, and orchestra accompaniment, was very good. If you are trying to choose between Phantom and Chicago, my wholehearted recommendation would be for Phantom, both as a superior production and venue.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very nice theater. We were seated quickly. This was my first time seeing a Broadway show and we went to see Chicago. I had a fantastic time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambassador Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ambassador Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing