We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigar Friendly and Live Jazz”
Review of Carnegie Club

Carnegie Club
Ranked #25 of 868 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
1 review
“Cigar Friendly and Live Jazz”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It was a great place to slow down, enjoy a cigar and whiskey and enjoy live jazz (depending on the night). I went on a Saturday night, and it was a great experience. Will do again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rasenman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    25
    6
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent two evenings at Carnegie Club. Basically, we were just walking down the street looking for a bar and stumbled on this place and we had a great time.
Staff are very friendly and the mixed drinks were outstanding (especially the "smokey orange sour).
Very old school feel with comfortable chairs and sofas.
It is a smoking bar, so if you do not like cigar smoke, you may want to look elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cashclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed for two shows”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We wanted some sinatra and sinatra we got!! Intimiate setting, great service.. pricey drinks and cigars... If you have your own cigars bring them.. It may be a $10 cutting fee but money saved nonetheless! Originally reserved the 830 show, decent seats on the stairs but somewhat awkward as the pillars were in the wAy, actually the layout of the establishment overall is awkward as it has a lounge feel so not everyone will get full viewing of the show, but they do have tv video throughout taping the live show but the singer was really good at engaging the entire audience... The entertainment was so great we stayed for both shows and closed the place... If you like sinatra and cigars, a must see!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SMA102205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Opulent!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

If you like a warm atmosphere, jazz music, great cigars, succulent ports, cozy seating & real New Yorkers, as well as new people, this is your spot! The attentiveness of the staff is on point, the appetizers coordinate perfectly with the wine list and top shelf spirits that there's no better place to end your evening. It's refined, private and easy....
Enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beyonce1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very vice”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

My husband has been going here for years when he comes into the city. I finally made it here with him. What an amazing experience! We came in a couple of times during the week; once when it first opened in the day in casual dress then once in the evening in more formal wear. Both times we enjoyed the comfort & ambience of our surroundings. If you love cigar bars its a must to experience! I can't even imagine why someone would go in & not enjoy smoking or being around cigars, that would be a waste of time in complaints. Honorable mention would be a bartender by the name of Abraham! He was absolutely awesome, very attentive & enjoyed conversation! He was very knowledgeable in all questions we directed to him. We most definitely will be returning!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carnegie Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Carnegie Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing