We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rare place!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culture Club

Culture Club
Ranked #243 of 859 Nightlife in New York City
Attraction details
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“rare place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

for the price; they should update the decor. so loud, so dark! I went to celebrate my b'day with a group of friends. we place our jackets ( at times it got cold and then hot); we were asked to remove them from the seating area in a very nasty way by a mean looking bouncer. We complained to the Manager who said he will take care of it?. the coat check area was on the 2nd fl. who wants to go upstairs to ck your coat (and they were not even coats). The music was ok but not the best of the 80's or 90's.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    7
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not sure how to describe this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We went here after a male review that was in the basement. The music was loud and the drinks are expensive. There is no place to get away from the loud music to talk to anyone you are trying to get to know. Know who you are going with cause you wont be able to talk until you are done. the fog machine was un-needed too. I love dancing in clubs but with everything compounded this just was not a fun time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristenandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a fun time dancing to 80's music, keep looking...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

On a recent trip to New York, my husband and I thought it would be fun to go dancing. Instead of going to a swanky techno music club, we wanted to go somewhere we knew all the music and could just have fun.

The design looks like some not very clever junior high school kids were given free reign - lots of day glo pac men. In the 1.5 hours we were there, most of the music wasn't 80's and when it was it was so badly re-mixed the song was barely recognizable. We paid a $25/per person cover charge. The drinks were horribly over-priced and it seemed like the Club catered to the Jersey Shore crowd. On a Friday night there was only one other floor that we found open and nobody was there.

Culture Club is a huge disappointment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank glashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We "liked" the club on Facebook prior to our visit and received "front of the line" privileges. Great music, fun crowd, great decor (murals and paintings). The negatives are the overpriced drinks ($15 for a cocktail, $5 for a bottle of water), and horrible bathrooms with doors that don't lock. I had a blast dancing to the 80's and the overall crowd was very into it. The dance floor was packed all night!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capercat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
2 reviews
“vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

the hotel was very convenient to all the things that I wanted to see, like the theater, time square, NBC studios, Rockfeller Plaza and shopping/

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaM315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Culture Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Culture Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing