We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Humbling”

New York City Vietnam Veterans Memorial Plaza
Ranked #346 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Plaza is New York City’s official Vietnam Veterans Memorial. The Memorial and the surrounding plaza provides and maintains a valuable and overdue tribute to the men and women who served in the Vietnam War.Visitors can view letters, news clippings, photos, honor plaques and diaries of those who fought in Vietnam as well as spend time near the Reflecting Fountain or stroll along the Walk of Honor.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So Humbling”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

To see the tribute towers right there and all those names on the wall this brought tears to my eyes. Beautiful setup of honor.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaMyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We "found" the Memorial while walking to other sights.”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

It was nice to see the memorial, but it is a walkway and we didn't realize it was a Memorial until we looked closer; we truly stumbled upon it. Glad we saw this. Small sign, NO lines, FREE.

Helpful?
Thank Rdfairfoeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“thank you”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The whole memorial wasmovingsince my husbandis a Vietnam veteran

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“our heroes”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

It was beautifully done. My husband is a veteran and really wanted to check it out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blauvelt, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fine Tribute to the men and women of NYC who served in Vietnam.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A beautiful site and a fine tribute to the 1,741 brave men and women of our great city who gave their lives so this could be a better place.

One of the more interesting charactistics of the plaza is the recurring sounds of the helicopters landing and taking off from the nearby heliport. An especially appropriate background for a Vietnam Memorial.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York City Vietnam Veterans Memorial Plaza also viewed

 

Been to New York City Vietnam Veterans Memorial Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing