We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Episcopal Church in New York”

Church of Saint Mary the Virgin
csg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Episcopal Church in New York”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Right next to the hotel where we stayed, The Sanctuary. Beautiful church with services available throughout the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank csg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NYC,NY”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely wood work,stain glass windows good, quiet place to pray on Sunday or anyday of the week. St Patricks under renovations so I recommend this church. You will not be disappointed, and it was across the street from our hotel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Right by our hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We looked in. Very pretty inside. They had a service so we didn't go in. Beautiful place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieTig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle River NJ
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Paris in NYC a Times Square Episcopal treasure”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

If you are Episcopal I do hope you will visit, Amid the clamor of Times Square this is a parish church whose members come from near and far. Offering daily Mass, with confessions this is a high church with full stations of the cross carved to detail, and mahogany every where. open from 7 am to 7 PM, .Who would think it ?
Supported by voluntary contributions. It has often been compared to the Sainte Chappelle in Paris. How fortunate we were to attend the christmas concert here and listen to the choir, of the Grace Church as their beautiful parish is undergoing repair. It was lovely to hear 150 voices perform here with this maginificant organ and bells chiming away. Oh yes the beautiful blue rose window at dusk, what a treasure!There is a wonderful back private chapel, dedicated in the late 1880's with a baptismal font that cranks up to open and prepare for the newly baptized. their web page is www.stmvirgin.org.
Amidst your hustle and bustle while visiting the great city, walk in and behold the sanctuary and rest your tired feet and close your eyes and be thankful.You will think you came to Paris just for a moment!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of Saint Mary the Virgin also viewed

 

Been to Church of Saint Mary the Virgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing