We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss”

Rubin Museum of Art
Ranked #88 of 1,092 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rubin Museum of Art is an arts oasis and cultural hub in New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood that inspires visitors to make powerful connections between contemporary life and the art and ideas of the Himalayas, India, and neighboring regions. With a diverse array of thought-provoking exhibitions and programs-including films, concerts, and on-stage conversations-the Rubin provides immersive experiences that encourage personal discoveries and spark new ways of seeing the world. Emphasizing cross-cultural connections, the Rubin is a space to contemplate the big questions that extend across history and span human cultures.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Like many museums, the Rubin posts details about the origins (date, place and materials) for each work. But even more interesting, each piece is explained for content. I am not an expert on the prominent figures of the Hindu and Buddhist faiths. So, it added to my enjoyment to be able to read about these significant features in full context. Also, there is an area that explains how the ancient works were first made of wood, then clay, then stone and finally metal. There are detailed examples of how pieces were constructed... what a great idea! It's especially interesting to see the process for hollow castings. If you ever wondered how Buddhism spread from India (Tibet) into China and Indonesia, then you are in for a treat. This is outlined very well at the Rubin along with wonderful examples of the art and symbols that resulted. I started at the top floor and worked my way down. Allow 1/2 day to check out all the great stuff.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank barefoothare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    75
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous Friday Night”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I attended the Red Molly concert on Friday night which was part of the Naked Soul Concert Series. I love the group and was excited when I heard they were performing in NYC. With a screen size picture of a Mandala for a background, Red Molly mesmerized the sold out audience with their harmonies and original songs. As the lady behind me said, " This place is a gem!" She was so right. Happy hour from 6-7pm with 2 for 1 drinks, background music, free admission from 6-10pm...what is not to like. I will go back for either a lecture or another concert and reserve enough time to investigate the museum art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Educationally fun friday”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

It was a friday spent extraordinarily. Instead of the usual sit down dinner and drinks, this friday at Rubin was entirely different and more fun (for me at least). It is free on Friday and drinks are served in the lounge. Happy hour is from 6-7 and then you could roam around the museum and enjoy as much learning as you can take. This is one of my favorite night outs and will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Charm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutry, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Never before seen paintings, tapestries, sculptures and photographs of artifacts from the Himalayas. A beautiful museum off the beaten path.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Exploremyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“South Asian Art for the historian and cultured...”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just to give you a brief overview of what this museum entails:

The Rubin Museum is filled with Himalayan art, Tibetan art objects, Indian sculptures and other types of Asian art.

As a bonus, on Friday nights, Café Serai becomes K2 Lounge offering Pan-Asian tapas menu, a DJ and happy hour runs from 6-7PM with 2-for-1 drink specials on all beer, wine and well drinks. Not to mention, we met some cool people there from all walks of life and ended up making new friends and connections.

Talk about stepping out of your comfort zone...it's more comforting OUT of your zone!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubin Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Rubin Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing