We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For kids AND adults” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Victory Theater

New Victory Theater
Ranked #352 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New Victory Theater is New York City’s first and only full-time performing arts theater for kids and their families and classmates. The New Victory Theater seeks out sophisticated, thought-provoking professional productions from both around the globe and close to home. Tickets to the public cost an average of $18, with seats available for as little as $14. Free locker storage and booster seats are available for all performances.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For kids AND adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We saw "Fragile", a French production featuring unique puppets and no words! Great production and highly recommend it for families. Can't wait to see another play at the New Vic on our next trip to NYC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“affordable family performing arts theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I’ve been taking my kids to the New Vic for over 10 years; the only full-time performing arts theater for children in NYC. They offer a wide variety of shows for many different age levels and adults will enjoy them also. Now that my kids are teenagers I select shows for the older age groups and we have seen some excellent performances. One of my all time favorites was “Nevermore” about the life and work of Edgar Allen Poe, a seriously wonderful production by a group from Alberta. The New Vic is also affordable and one can often get tickets the day of the show and most of the seats are good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anavarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Show for Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This may be my newest fav place in NYC. We saw Bello the Clown's acrobatic/magic all-around crazy show and the 2 10 year olds laughed out loud the whole time - and their moms were too! Significantly cheaper than Broadway i highly recommend this if you are in the City and looking for a fun experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kndunleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
270 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A Broadway experience at 1/4 the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

You won't find the huge productions of the typical Broadway shows. What you will find is a kid friendly Broadway experience in a fabulous venue at prices starting at what it costs to see a movie. Shows run for 1-2 months so be sure to check the calendar. Their web site is very clear about the age range for each show and has never steered us wrong. I take my kids to about 4 shows a year, we have never been disappointed. Everything from the free lockers to the availability of sufficient bathrooms makes families feel at home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“circus oz!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

wow, what an amazing and fun time at the new victory theater! my young son and i saw 'circus oz' earlier this week (ie december 2012). the theater is small and every seat is great. we were on the 2nd floor, in the balcony and felt like we were on the stage. the theater had lots of details and comfortable seats. they had plenty of booster seats for the small kids, so they could see too.

we were there for a 2-hour show of circus oz. this cannot be adequately described. instead, just go! go to this show. its better than anything you'll see in nyc. there are about a dozen performers about 8 or 9 being acrobats and the other 2 or 3 are more like court jesters who really do a great job of rounding out the show. kids of all ages love this show. there are no animals in the show. there's probably about a dozen 'skits' that are performed. each one has some sort of acrobatic accomplishment, like balancing on three different rolling cylinders (i cant balance on a skate board much less three cylinders wobbling in three directions).

you just have to see this to believe it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank UStoEurope111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Victory Theater also viewed

 

Been to New Victory Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing