We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Totally absorbed in the play, worth the cost of a full price ticket. Performance excellent and stage setting and design incredibly clever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    176
    40
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Nice musical”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is slapstick comedy musical. The cast is great and story interesting. If you like period slapstick, you'll like the show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable show”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

When my wife and I visited NYC in Jan 2014 we were looking for a Broadway show to go to. This one caught my eye, as we both love the old Alec Guinness film "Kind Hearts and Coronets" whose original story this show is based on.

Suffice it to say that we really loved it - hilarious in places, especially the innovative death scenes - and would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like Gilbert & Sullivan by way of Monty Python”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My wife and daughter and I had a wonderful time seeing "A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder" in May, 2014. The set is marvelous -- almost a member of the cast. The music is entertaining and the plot is a madcap combination of Gilbert & Sullivan and Monty Python. There's a high body count but it's all in fun. The quick costume changes are a signature part of the show. Definitely an entertaining evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cogit8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Killer Show”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

It's a romp, a delicious SPOOF!, one of the very best Broadway musical comedies we have seen over the years, ranking right up there with "Victor, Victoria," with Julie Andrews. All the ill-rated D'Ysquith family members have hilarious stage exits. Well plotted, indeed. Long may the D'Ysquiths live and prosper on Broadway.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank oaktownboy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing