We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Fabulous, Delicious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Archer Hotel New York
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Fabulous, Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend with my mom and LOVED it. The hotel was impeccably clean from floor to ceiling. The bed was incredible - mattress, linens, comforter - just perfection. I absolutely loved the design of the bathroom and the shower was wonderful. The food at the hotel restaurant, David Burke's fabrick, was delicious. We looked forward to breakfast both mornings and made sure we had lunch at the hotel before heading home.

We did have one small issue that was handled so well by the staff and the hotel manager. Actually, the entire staff was top notch.

Be warned that the rooms are very small. Like, middle of Paris small. The staff did say that the rooms with two beds have much more space, but the King Suite was miniscule. But given that we were spending most of our time around NYC, it was a non-issue.

Great rooftop bar with a lovely view of the Empire State building and a more relaxed bar on the first floor. Location was excellent.

Cannot say enough good things. I can't wait to go back to NY and stay at the Archer Hotel again, and I'll be so excited to visit their Austin location when they open it. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a larger room! The rooms are very small. Comfortable - perfect if you just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Nicoya B. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,039
    532
    95
    41
    15
See reviews for
608
1,008
96
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at The Archer with a group of international scholars after they were open for two weeks. The location is fantastic and the hotel staff were very accomodating. There is definitely a strong value on customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Miller J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Miller J. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very well-appointed rooms, though small. Great for a short stay. Convenient to Penn Station. Staff was excellent, very helpful and friendly. Nice roof-top bar and outdoor seating area in front. Perfect for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PhiladelphiaMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, PhiladelphiaMatilda. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I once had a smaller room in Paris. The hotel was full but the landylady graciously put a mattress in a closet so I had a place to sleep.
the Archer is brand new and wonderfully designed. if I ever build a new house, I want a bathroom like the one in my room at the Archer.
i cannot say enough complimentary things about the staff and their impeccable service. none better at any price. the housekeeping folks were friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. the ice was a perfect 32degrees F.
We had a front facing room on a high floor and were serenaded by endless garbage truck noises on the weeknights, but-nothing on The weekend. Perhaps a back room would be better.

How small was the room? well the door did not hit the bed when you first go in, but if you take one more step, you are there. The funniest was when I opened the ironing board and had to kneel no the bed to iron my shirt. no I am not joking.
All in all we had a great time. the hotel is sparkling new and clean. the restaurant, Fabrik, is world class and the chairs out front are a nice treat.

The roof bar is far more egalitarian than the one next door at the Refinery. two drinks and a tip were $45, but the view of the Empire State building took away the sting.
The Nespresso coffee machine was brilliant, but could use real cream, not that fake stuff.
We had a great time and really loved the place, but will surely pay up for one of their few larger rooms( a whopping 350 ft vs 175) .
the neighborhood is in the garment district, on one of the buttons and zipper streets, and. A nice change and a surprisingly handy location.
if you are not claustrophobic, it's all good.

Room Tip: Get a big one in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Tom M. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful, you make some excellent suggestions for improvement and we are carefully reviewing them as it comes time for updates. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel goes out of its way to ensure you have a great stay. We arrived well before our check-in and still received a room key. The room was beautiful and full of great amenities including cupcakes, caramels, water, Nespresso, and amazing bath items. Even the gym provided apples, towels, headphones, and water. Upon check out, they offered to hold our bags for us, allowing us to come back and forth to take items from our bags as we pleased. The rooftop bar offers an amazing view with some interesting cocktails. Fabrick had some very solid, delicious food. Overall, I have not had a better experience at a hotel in New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Stacey A. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal.p.q, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a good place .easy to walk from 38th to all attractions,restaurants ,theaters ,shopping,and all.Nice hotel>Àrcher at new tork>for a visit.The penn station is only 10 minutes walk from hotel Archer.We took Hop On ,Hop Off to do the visit.dont take the green bus ,they are too slow as servise point__30 min delay at each spot .take the red one ,it will be bether.Watch your bill at resto ,the tips his alwaus on your bill at 18% Have good time at NEW YORK CITY.also look for theaters ticket special ,over 50% escompte,,on timeSquaire location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Henri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Henri L. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, MA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is brand new and located well for public transit. Rooms are smallish but very nice and clean. Any issues we had, which weren't serious, were taken care of immediately. We had a lovely view of the Empire State building. There is a nice lounge area out front which sets the entrance back from the street. It's a good look. Breakfast had a long wait and then the pancakes weren't done but my eggs benedict was great. I think they need a little more time to settle in because they are new. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 224helenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, 224helenm. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,863 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer Hotel New York

Property: Archer Hotel New York
Address: 45 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer New York is a new boutique hotel that evokes the creative soul of its Garment District neighborhood and promises a distinctive stay every time. The hotel's carefully curated experience is a reflection of Archer - storyteller and adventurer, connoisseur and consummate host. It's a welcoming residence filled with quirky, curated luxuries and a sincere staff dedicated to your service. Get ready for 22 stories, 180 unique rooms, and a surprise around every corner. The hotel blends industrial elegance and boutique intimacy - a warm, welcoming place that is dotted with Chesterfield-style sofas, vibrant house art, exposed brick and wood-paneled millwork. The hotel features Charlie Palmer Steak, a first-floor restaurant featuring seasonal menus inspired by the region's produce and products. High atop his new hotel, Archer serves up Spyglass Rooftop Bar, a classic, all-season escape with breathtaking views of the Empire State and Chrysler Buildings, small bites and crafted cocktails. Archer's New York guestrooms are intimate but luxurious, with five-star bedding, elegant black and white subway tiled bathrooms with walk-in showers and floor-to-ceiling windows for natural light. With a quartet of design palettes, objects d'art from Archer's journeys and daily turndown treats, every stay is an experience all its own. Modern must-haves include complimentary WiFi, 42-inch LED HDTV with premium movies and sports and MP3 dock. Lux touches include Frette(C) towels and bathrobes, NYC apothecary (Malin+Goetz(C)) bath amenities, a selection of pillows, a Nespresso coffee experience, a fully stocked minibar with guest refrigeration and Charlie Palmer Steak(C) in-room dining. Each guestroom provides a desk, laptop safe and bedside reading lights. Hotel amenities include complimentary passes to the New York Sports Club, curated souvenirs from local artisans available to take home, concierge service, complimentary lobby business center and a 100% smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archer Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing