We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Archer Hotel New York
Ranked #18 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little boutique hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a new boutique hotel located in the Fashion District of Manhattan. It is decorated in modern/industrial design. Everything was really great including the staff at front desk and the waitstaff of the restaurant and Spyglass bar. The view from the Spyglass of the Empire State Bldg. would have been great if it were not for the fact it was raining. Our only disappointment was the very small room. It would have been OK but there was no place to open or unpack your luggage unless you place it on your clean bed. There was, however, space to store the closed luggage UNDER the bed. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. Very modern with tile everywhere and glass enclosed shower. We had breakfast in the "fabrik" restaurant which was very good but somewhat over priced in my opinion. (2 omelettes and 2 coffees for $45 including tip.) (yes, I understand this is New York) But, you can have peanut brittle at any time on your way out of the hotel as a snack! Nice touch. Overall, would probably stay again especially if we had a special deal as we did through Travelzoo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank diner2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, diner2001. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,206
    556
    103
    43
    16
See reviews for
668
1,071
103
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The beds are incredibly soft and the front desk staff is courteous, helpful and efficient. It has incredible views of the Empire State Building and a fabulous rooftop bar. I would strongly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Ela L. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Two nights stay - very central and convenient. Friendly and helpful staff. New and clean rooms. Hotel newly renovated Great roof top bar with superb view of New York skyline & Empire State building. Plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 169wendyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, 169wendyh. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The good or really great: the hotel is adorable. From the hospitality when you walk in the door (bags rolled right away, no line to check in, very nice Megan who checked us in, offered a fabulous floor for our room, and was able to accommodate a late check out) to the decor, ambiance and feel of the place, I loved it. We even got a $10 off card to use anywhere at the hotel. Outside hotel front are tables and cushy seats to sit back and people watch. Walk in and small bar area to your right which was well designed and fab, and your reception desk to the left. A seating area with amazing yellow couches before the restaurant David Burke fabrick. We didn't eat there but heard wonderful things and will visit another time I'm sure. I would recommend a nice scent upon arrival. Have been to other hotels and this little touch makes you automatically feel part of someone else's 'home'.The room (see also indifferent section) small but adorable. From the his and hers slippers, adorable bedside clock and reading lamps, to the nespresso machine (i❤️nespresso) to the great products and most comfy bed this room was awesome. There are two small colplimentary water bottles and caramels which were so yummy I wanted more! So new you can feel yourself breaking it in and my 14yr old niece and I couldn't get enough of the comfy pillows and window that actually opens! Not the usual for a NY hotel. At turndown, you get left a treat of yummy salty and sweet lollipops with an accompanying adorable notecard. My niece loved the adorable little fancy touches. Also see my separate review for the amazing rooftop bar, spyglass.

The indifferent:
The room is small. Really small.The bed has drawers built in and a small space underneath which was great if you like to unpack stuff but we just threw our suitcase on the ottoman. The mini bar is weighted and I realized it after I almost picked up a bottle. I suppose reception could remind you upon check in of this. Some tourists might be so excited and pick something up, like the snacks that look yummy, and not realize boom...it's yours. The internet: if you don't mind spotty wifi, you can place this in the indifferent section. If you do mind, see the bad section below.

The bad:
The AC. We came in and it was 70. We set it down to 68 (the lowest possible setting). It never went down. Came back from a show and room was now 73. Called reception and a tech came around 11. Did nothing but poke around the unit, and restart the thermostat. Air kicked on. After sweating through the sheets of the most comfy bed ever, I woke up at 2am to thermostat reading 73. Called reception, and asked for a fan so as not to have tech come back up and wake up my niece. The said try to restart thermo and it should kick on the AC. It was a 'glitch'. I did and it did, but woke up at 6am sweating even worse with thermostat now at 76. The hospitality card suggests to relax, take it easy and enjoy your stay. I was so upset I couldn't get a good nights sleep because of the temperature problem. I should be sleeping now still instead of writing this but I'm sweating and uncomfortable. They did offer a different room to sleep in at 2am but I wasn't going to wake my visiting niece who is pooped.
2) wifi. It's free which is great but spotty to say the least. Took me 2 hours trying to connect to finally get the screen that prompts you for your username and password. Once it worked on my iPad, couldn't get in my iPhone. Then after coming back from show, I never got wifi again. Including now to write this review. So if you need to check work emails or look stuff up, you might have a hard time doing so.

Other than that I would say the recent opening has probably been a success and despite the bad section above which I am sure they will work on, I would stay again ensuring my room has properly functioning AC! Especially in the NY summer heAt.....

Room 2102 on highest floor was awesome! Super high and quiet considering the rooftop bar one floor up!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jkwasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, jkwasnick. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We do apologize for any mechanical discomforts or inconveniences you encountered during our early opening period. We have made many improvements over the last two years and we hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and loved it. the staff are so nice and the food is to die for. they have a roof top bar which has and amazing view looking over the city and has a perfect view of The Empire State building

Room Tip: to have a better view ask for a room looking out on the south side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Edward K. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend with my mom and LOVED it. The hotel was impeccably clean from floor to ceiling. The bed was incredible - mattress, linens, comforter - just perfection. I absolutely loved the design of the bathroom and the shower was wonderful. The food at the hotel restaurant, David Burke's fabrick, was delicious. We looked forward to breakfast both mornings and made sure we had lunch at the hotel before heading home.

We did have one small issue that was handled so well by the staff and the hotel manager. Actually, the entire staff was top notch.

Be warned that the rooms are very small. Like, middle of Paris small. The staff did say that the rooms with two beds have much more space, but the King Suite was miniscule. But given that we were spending most of our time around NYC, it was a non-issue.

Great rooftop bar with a lovely view of the Empire State building and a more relaxed bar on the first floor. Location was excellent.

Cannot say enough good things. I can't wait to go back to NY and stay at the Archer Hotel again, and I'll be so excited to visit their Austin location when they open it. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a larger room! The rooms are very small. Comfortable - perfect if you just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Nicoya B. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at The Archer with a group of international scholars after they were open for two weeks. The location is fantastic and the hotel staff were very accomodating. There is definitely a strong value on customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Miller J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Thank you, Miller J. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
967 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 466 in New York City
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,787 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer Hotel New York

Property: Archer Hotel New York
Address: 45 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer New York is a new boutique hotel that evokes the creative soul of its Garment District neighborhood and promises a distinctive stay every time. The hotel's carefully curated experience is a reflection of Archer - storyteller and adventurer, connoisseur and consummate host. It's a welcoming residence filled with quirky, curated luxuries and a sincere staff dedicated to your service. Get ready for 22 stories, 180 unique rooms, and a surprise around every corner. The hotel blends industrial elegance and boutique intimacy - a warm, welcoming place that is dotted with Chesterfield-style sofas, vibrant house art, exposed brick and wood-paneled millwork. The hotel features Charlie Palmer Steak, a first-floor restaurant featuring seasonal menus inspired by the region's produce and products. High atop his new hotel, Archer serves up Spyglass Rooftop Bar, a classic, all-season escape with breathtaking views of the Empire State and Chrysler Buildings, small bites and crafted cocktails. Archer's New York guestrooms are intimate but luxurious, with five-star bedding, elegant black and white subway tiled bathrooms with walk-in showers and floor-to-ceiling windows for natural light. With a quartet of design palettes, objects d'art from Archer's journeys and daily turndown treats, every stay is an experience all its own. Modern must-haves include complimentary WiFi, 42-inch LED HDTV with premium movies and sports and MP3 dock. Lux touches include Frette(C) towels and bathrobes, NYC apothecary (Malin+Goetz(C)) bath amenities, a selection of pillows, a Nespresso coffee experience, a fully stocked minibar with guest refrigeration and Charlie Palmer Steak(C) in-room dining. Each guestroom provides a desk, laptop safe and bedside reading lights. Hotel amenities include complimentary passes to the New York Sports Club, curated souvenirs from local artisans available to take home, concierge service, complimentary lobby business center and a 100% smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Archer Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing