We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem, but not for long”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Archer Hotel New York
Ranked #15 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A marvelous boutique hotel w/a stunning view of the Empire State Bldg from the rooftop bar and many of the rooms. The staff is professional and personable. Turn down service included a variety of handmade treats. The bathroom is full size, window were operable, the safe had a light in it and the HVAC was responsive! Don't pass the word; you'll want this for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you, Jun E. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,815 - 2,821 of 3,271 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently stayed at The Archer with my fiance. The room is small, but on par with other hotel rooms in NYC. The setup is highly functional and they have made good use of the space. It is spotless, brand new & nicely decorated. Spyglass rooftop bar has an awesome view of the Empire State building & the hotel is walking distance from Bryant Park. Staff was very friendly - I will be staying here again the future!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bizgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you, Bizgirl11. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is new, that's the only good thing. Rooms are so small you bump into everything. NO closet space. NO gym, NO room service. Bar at the rooftop make elevator service a nightmare and full of drunks going up and down. Overall not what I expected from the rates they are charging.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Gabriel M:

I’m disappointed to read that you were not happy during your stay with us. I apologize you were not aware of the side perks at Archer. While we do not have a fitness center on premises, we do offer complimentary passes to New York Sports Club located a half block from the hotel for our guests. We also offer Burke in the Box in-room dining service for our guests.

To alleviate waiting time at the elevators during the evening, we have allocated one of them to be an express service for our guests going to the roof top bar. This allows faster service for our guests going to their rooms on the other two elevators.

I thank you for your comments and hope you will give us another try the next time you are in Manhattan.

In hospitality,
Michele
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a centrally located hotel, very new. It is fine. I guess it is more of a holiday hotel than a business one though. Not that welcoming for a sole business traveller, but if that isn't what you are going for, then it is excellent. The clientele seems very cool, which is fine if you are on holiday, but less relaxing if it is a Monday night, and you have been up for 18 hours when you get there....I'm sure it will do very well indeed...but I'd go for the numerous other business orientated options next time I think.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you, Mark B. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We apologize for any discomfort or inconveniences you may have encountered during your business trip and during our early opening period. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This small, LIVELY hotel is handsomely appointed and spanking-new clean. The staff is courteous and responsive and very congenial. The two bars--one on the ground floor and one on the roof top are small and intimate. I would highly recommend this hotel. Fantastically located in mid-town! and three blocks from the NYPL and Bryant Park!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mary Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you, Mary Elizabeth W. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Archer Hotel after staying there in late July. The hotel is well appointed, clean, with a modern style and high-end amenities. The staff is wonderful. When we checked in, Megan asked the reason for our visit and when we mentioned it was for our wedding anniversary we were instantly upgraded to an Empire view room. She also sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room. The rooftop bar is chic with great views. While the rooms are smaller in size, the layout makes the best use of the space. The beds are extremely comfortable as well. Great location within the city and will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Empire view rooms on the higher floors are on the small side but very well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laur253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you, Laur253. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We found this hotel through an online website. This is a new hotel near times square. Rooms are small but really modern, nice and clean. Hotel presents itself as a cool new experience. Great roof top bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mytr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you, mytr7. We know it has been a while since you first visited Archer but we wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is wonderful to hear many aspects of your first trip were delightful. We hope you will join us for another New York adventure very soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 473 in New York City
3,845 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 473 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 473 in New York City
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer Hotel New York

Address: 45 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £165 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer New York is a new boutique hotel that evokes the creative soul of its Garment District neighborhood and promises a distinctive stay every time. The hotel's carefully curated experience is a reflection of Archer - storyteller and adventurer, connoisseur and consummate host. It's a welcoming residence filled with quirky, curated luxuries and a sincere staff dedicated to your service. Get ready for 22 stories, 180 unique rooms, and a surprise around every corner. The hotel blends industrial elegance and boutique intimacy - a warm, welcoming place that is dotted with Chesterfield-style sofas, vibrant house art, exposed brick and wood-paneled millwork. The hotel features Charlie Palmer Steak, a first-floor restaurant featuring seasonal menus inspired by the region's produce and products. High atop his new hotel, Archer serves up Spyglass Rooftop Bar, a classic, all-season escape with breathtaking views of the Empire State and Chrysler Buildings, small bites and crafted cocktails. Archer's New York guestrooms are intimate but luxurious, with five-star bedding, elegant black and white subway tiled bathrooms with walk-in showers and floor-to-ceiling windows for natural light. With a quartet of design palettes, objects d'art from Archer's journeys and daily turndown treats, every stay is an experience all its own. Modern must-haves include complimentary WiFi, 42-inch LED HDTV with premium movies and sports and MP3 dock. Lux touches include Frette(C) towels and bathrobes, NYC apothecary (Malin+Goetz(C)) bath amenities, a selection of pillows, a Nespresso coffee experience, a fully stocked minibar with guest refrigeration and Charlie Palmer Steak(C) in-room dining. Each guestroom provides a desk, laptop safe and bedside reading lights. Hotel amenities include complimentary passes to the New York Sports Club, curated souvenirs from local artisans available to take home, concierge service, complimentary lobby business center and a 100% smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Archer Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing