We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,750)
Filter reviews
3,750 results
Traveller rating
2,868
688
123
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,868
688
123
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar view of the empire state building turn down service bryant park new york nespresso machine rooms are small times square boutique hotel little touches every evening great boutique perfect location fantastic hotel midtown manhattan would highly recommend this hotel room size
Filter
Updating list...
1,660 - 1,665 of 3,750 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This was a 1st time in NYC for both my partner (Tracey) and myself (Ash). We booked through Kuoni in the UK, they listened to our requirements and came up with this absolute gem of a hotel!

From Renee at front of house to Sal (engineering), who helped plan our trips on the subway, they made our 5 day stay in Manhattan an absolute pleasure.

From arrival and our bags being taken from the taxi to the minute we left, we felt that we were the only guests in the hotel (obviously we weren't).

Paul / Anthony on concierge couldn't have been more helpful, booking Broadway shows, checking us in on line for return home, and generally just being genuinely helpful.

The position of the hotel appears perfect, secluded but at the same time, so close to down town,up town and Times Square but you wouldn't know you were.

Food is fantastic, we were lazy and only spent one day not eating in but it was worth it, the roof top bar is so chic, with great views of the Empire State building.

Compared to the UK and Europe, the rooms are a tad small but they have everything you want and the beds are so COMFORTABLE!

When Tracey returns to NYC, there will be no debate as to what hotel she stays in.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Ash & Tracey.

Room tip: The view of the Empire State Building was pretty special to wake up to!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AshRowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you, AshRowden. We are delighted to hear that your 50th Birthday celebrations were made memorable with Archer. You are so kind to remember many of our hosts by name, we will be sure to pass along your comments. Guests like you are a joy to host and we hope you will join us for another New York adventure soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I am very satisfied with our choice, kudos to Seiku and Troy who booked our rooms and Marchely for smiling from the corner....and Anthony the concierge for helping out with an item we left behind after we left. We had planned a get together for a friend coming over from Italy and wanted a great accomodation in the city keeping an eye on the budget. Although it was only one night right from the start we felt welcomed by the staff at the reception. The rooms originally didn't offer a view of the Empire but Troy and Seiku offered us an upgrade for a reasonable fee that rewarded our expectations. We had only one issue with the coffe machine in my room 1404 which seemed not to work well but our rooms were close to one another, ie 1405 and we shared coffe with our friend, a minor thing in my mind because the cleanliness and quietness of the rooms made up for it. Everyone was helpful and we also managed to have our luggages being held prior to entering the rooms as well well as the day after when we left and needed time to visit the city. My wife Alina and I enjoyed it very much and would recommend Archer Hotel without hesitations, we will be back, this time for a longer stay! Marco

Room tip: keeping an eye at the budget the higher floors offer better views
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marcob2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you, Marco. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with Archer. You are so kind to recognize many of our hosts by name and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them. Guests like you are a joy to host, and hearing you plan to return is the best compliment we can receive. Hurry back, Archer misses you already.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Although I lived in NYC for many years and travel there frequently, I don't have a "go to" hotel. The Archer is great. Rooms are tiny, but they have everything you need. Surprisingly quiet being in mid-town. The service is friendly and super attentive. I don't like the lobby and line outside for the roof top bar, but you can really avoid all that. Didn't try the David Burke restaurant, but people seem to like it. Know that there isn't a gym in house by the NYSC is kitty corner and does the trick. Definitely one to try and a nice value.

Room tip: Gosh, all rooms must be good. I had great windows overlooking 38th street - they even opened!
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimslv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you, Kim S. We are delighted to have the stamp of approval from a New Yorker such as yourself. They say once you've lived in New York you never really leave, we're so happy Archer can be home during your visits back to the city. Yes, we do have a wonderful partnership with the NYSC nearby and we are happy to offer our guests complimentary passes during their stay so they can experience a much wider fitness offering than any hotel gym can accommodate. We are happy to hear you enjoyed it. Guests like you are a joy to host and we look forward to welcoming you home to New York upon your next visit.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

They have been trained to call the rooms "intimate", but the reality is these are the smallest hotel rooms I have EVER seen or stayed in .... Impossible for a couple to unpack. There is no room for the suitcases. I could feel the room from one arm to the next and I don't have long arms. I looked at all the rooms and there are no larger rooms, just different configurations of small rooms. Almost a deal breaker EXCEPT the bed is SPECTACULAR and the service is EXTRAORDINARY. There is also a Lord and Taylor at the corner. If you need to stay in Hell's Kitchen and don't mind living on the bed, this is a perfect pick.

Room tip: rooms with bathtub have nice size bathroom but smaller living space
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you, Sue K. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Archer's sincere service, central location and yes, our spectacular beds. We realize our rooms are intimate, but we pride ourselves on smart design elements and personalized touches to make our guests feel at home. We enjoyed hosting your New York adventure and we hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Everything about the Archer is wonderful. We had a block of rooms for our son's Memorial Day weekend wedding celebration.The rooms may be small, but the staff is big on professionalism, courtesy and doing everything in their power to make your stay the best ever.The rooms are clean, comfortable and updated.The hotel is located in the heart of everything in NYC- an added plus. We are sure to return to the Archer on our next stay in Manhattan.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ArcherNY, General Manager at Archer Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you, Pat K. Congratulations to the happy couple! Archer loves hosting wedding guests as their excitement and joyfulness is always so contagious. It gives us all a boost! We are happy to hear your son's wedding weekend was a success and that your stay at Archer was memorable. We do hope you will all return for another family celebration or New York adventure soon. Archer misses you already.

In Hospitality,
Michele Mangino - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews