We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great improv comedy show”

Chicago City Limits
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Improvisational comedy theater.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great improv comedy show”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We saw them just off broadway on friday evening and were very impressed. Great comedy with excellent sung sections weaved in. The venue itself was dark and dingy with poor time keeping (they came on an hour late) and overpriced drinks ($9 beers - 2 drink minimum) but once the show started it was well worth it. Very sadly there were only about 10 people in the audience (venue could hold about 30) so hopefully they improve their marketing and get bigger turnouts or it wont be worth their while to continue. Do yourselves a favour and go and support this very different, highly entertaining show. If i lived anywhere near New York I'd definitely be going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hilarious”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We went to this on a recommendation of a lovely lady we met in a bar (seems to be a theme for my trip to New York!) I was knackered and really hungover but I was really glad I went. The venue for this show is quite small although there are a number of different shows going on at the same time in other rooms. There's a 2 drink minimum but that wasn't a problem. The show itself was really great (even if laughing did hurt my head). A 4 person musical improv team. Terribly clever, terribly talented. I'm really not sure how they did it but it was great. The highlight of the night was a musical based on......ah I'm not going to spoil it for you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bridgeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Musical Version of Improv Comedy”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We really enjoyed this show as it was fun to have some quick lyrics created on the improv stage. The actors were very witty and could take an idea and bring it to life in a quick musical review. It was different than the typical improv troupe as they actually could sing as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but pretty funny”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

There are a lot of great comedy clubs in the city, so it's hard to compete. The show itself was pretty funny. It featured 4 performers taking suggestions from the audience and creating sketches based upon them. They did a good job. The club itself is very small and a little run down. Drink choices are limited and there is a 2 drink minimum. You have to wait out on the sidewalk until right before your show begins and the operation seems a little disorganized.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank devineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“It really is family friendly...really!”
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Took our 9 and 13 year olds to this interactive and kid-friendly improv comedy show. We'd been to a similar place in our hometown (San Diego) and I was hoping this one would rise to New York comic standards and surpass ours...they rose! The four comedians were hysterical and, other than one brief scene involving a bong (blocked from our kids' view by one big comedic butt, it was truly kid appropriate. The best act - by far - was the Jeopardy game with the nerdy sports announcer, bizarre grave digger, and Asian dry cleaner contestants answering the audience's questions.

Tickets were $15 and there was a 2 drink minimum, a reasonable price based on our enjoyment level. If you've got teens, definitely go here for a fun night out!

Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingEXHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago City Limits also viewed

 

Been to Chicago City Limits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing