We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Movie Theater for Indie Films” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln Plaza Cinemas

Lincoln Plaza Cinemas
Ranked #54 of 141 Fun & Games in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Movie theater with 3-D viewing capability. Children's movies are a speciality of this popular theater.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Movie Theater for Indie Films”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a great theater for seeing Indie films. I only gave 4 stars because the seating isn't stadium style and the screens can be on small side so avoid sitting in the back of the theater.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    11
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Destination for Art Films”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is not exactly a cutting-edge multiplex, but the good news is that you can see films that are hard to get elsewhere (Woody Allen, foreign films) and they keep the pre-film previews and ads to a minimum. Like any theater in New York, they charge way too much for online ticketing, which is done through their own web site, as they're not affiliated with Fandango.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMBnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best movie theater in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is my favorite movie theater. It is always clean and they always play high quality movies. When they show coming attractions, I want to see them all.



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbsalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Look we had a great time at this cinema and saw an excellent film. It's obviously really important that there are cinema complex's like Lincoln Plaza to keep playing independent releases, however I think at little bit of work and a little more service would help a lot. The location is great, right next to Columbus Circle, the seats are OK and we will definitely be back, but I wish they were just a little bit more friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulHamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lincoln Plaza Cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just in case you miss out on the free Thursday performances at the David Rubinstein Atrium at Lincoln Center, you can cross the street and see great indie/foreign films for about $12. The theater has a small screen but the subjects of the films are so interesting, we didn't mind at all. We saw the film "Renoir" and were pleasantly entertained and comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bacchante1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln Plaza Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Plaza Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing