We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw dress rehearsal of Saturday Night Live.”

Saturday Night Live
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sketch comedy and variety show that has launched numerous hollywood stars from Eddie Murphy to Mike Meyers.
Walnut Creek, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saw dress rehearsal of Saturday Night Live.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Got tickets for Saturday Night Live's dress rehearsal Feb 18th (lottery). Maya Rudolf is such a huge talent. Justin Timberlake and Amy Poehler surprised us with guest appearances. A night I will never forget.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank macWalnutCreek_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's just great”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I'm a huge fan of SNL, so I recommend it 100%. The roster they have right now is great and the show is an amarican classic.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gabo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only for the really dedicated, but SO worth it!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Was recently successful in attending the live taping of SNL's season premier for the 2011-2012 season. Was one of the most fun things I've ever done, but I consider myself a very big fan of the show. If I wasn't waiting 6 hours in line in the middle of the night would never have been worth it.

Willing to wait all night to get in? Here's what you need to know:
- tickets get handed out a 7am Saturday morning, people will start lining up Friday morning or earlier depending on the host. For the premier the earliest people in line got there Thursday morning. Apparently for lady gaga people camped out all week!
- we got there just past 1am and had no idea if we had a good chance of getting in or not. If you're going to do this you need to be prepared to wait all night and not get in. When we got there there were about 120 people in front of us.
- At 7am sharp the NBC pages hand out the stand-by tickets for the dress rehearsal and the live taping. When you get to the front of the line they ask you if you want dress/live and tell you the number for each (ie. For us, 68 live 50 dress) you take a gamble and pick the one you want.
- for the live show you line back up inside the NBC building at 1030 and wait for them to let you in if you are lucky. Our show they let in 4 people after us meaning they went all the way down to 73. Apparently with some shows they let in less than 10 so again it's a gamble.

Let me know if you have any questions!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank jeng1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only if you intend to queue overnight”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Me and my spouse decided to give it a try, since it was our last night in New York.

We reached the 49th Street entrance at Rockefeller at 6.45am and there was already a long queue of people in front of us. Those right at the front of the queue had their sleeping bags and looked like they had spent the night there.

They start distributing the tickets shortly after 7am, and you have an option for the dress rehearsal or the actual live show. We chose the live show and were given 2 tickets numbered 140 & 141 - which represents our line in the queue. This queue sequence will be honoured at the queue for the show later in the night. This is a standby ticket and DOES NOT guarantee a seat in the studio.

We reached the NBC studios at 10.15am and there was already a long queue of people in the standby line. The standby queue was eventually re-organised based on our queue sequence in the morning, so you can actually come later at about 10.45pm as stated on the ticket and still save your space.

The wait was uncomfortable and long with hardly any updates from the staff! The air-conditioning was turned off so it was stuffy and uncomfortable. Eventually at about 11.15pm, they started letting the standby tickets enter at a snail's pace.

You would figure by then they could easily count how many standbys they would need and let the rest of us know earlier to go off, but there were hardly any news from the NBC guys.

We only found out at about 11.45pm, that they had only let in about 50 of the standby ticket holders, most of whom where those who had queued overnight. I heard that the week before, they only let in about 30 standby ticket holders.

In summary, unless you are at the front of the standby queue at 7am (ie. you will need to queue overnight or at least reach the queue in the wee hours of the morning) and your ticket is numbered up to say 30, there is little to no chance of getting into the show.

Alternatively, try for the dress rehearsals, or for the Thursday News update tapings, which the NBC pages told us were slightly easier to get in to.

Good luck!

Helpful?
10 Thank PlasticTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't try to wait for standby tickets!”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I had no idea if we had a chance for standby tickets or not, but I definitely wouldn't waste your vacation time waiting for them. We gave it one hour and got there at 6AM for the 7AM distribution. Little did we know, there was absolutely no chance. There were already about 150 people in line, and the poor kids who got there at 5PM the night before didn't even end up making it in to the show. They only let 3 people into the show the night we were there. I've heard another night they let about 7 in, so don't even try!

Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saturday Night Live also viewed

 

Been to Saturday Night Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing