We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love steak...”
Review of The Palm - NYC One - CLOSED

The Palm - NYC One
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 44th & 45th
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you love steak...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are only a handful of steak houses I've eaten in that I consider superior restaurants. Most often the meat is okay but everything else is mediocre. Not so at The Palm in Manhattan. Their chopped salad is fantastic; the "half and half"....half crispy crunchy thinly sliced potatoes (which come out as chips) and half spectacularly crunchy fried onions....both without a drop of grease are alone worth a trip to this venerable city favorite. Whether it's the calamari appetizer; the lobster cocktail, or the creamed spinach, everything you get at this restaurant is the best you'll have anywhere. And then, the piece de resistance....the steak. Whether you prefer filet mignon as my companion did, or the NY strip as I did....the steak comes out exactly as ordered; my companion's well done, mine perfectly rare. This is a restaurant not just for carnivores....but for those who value excellence of preparation. Pricey but not for the quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    101
    36
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An enjoyable Business Luncheon....”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

They have one of the BEST Business Luncheons you might want to enjoy! Everything is fantastic and delicious. If you've never had blue cheese dressing on a mixed salad, save your taste buds for theirs. It has chunks of blue cheese all over the salad--not just a thin dressing on the greens. It is OUTRAGIOUS. I find that EVERYTHING might choose from the menu will be fabulous. And, save your taste buds for the best chocolate desert you will ever have--sinfully delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adriennefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderdale by the Sea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find. Just luck!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Got into NYC late in the day and went for a walk to reacquaint ourselves with the neighborhood. Theater district location. Perfect service, food was excellent. Darling husband had a steak he proclaimed was one of the best, and he's a steak eater. Tuna app for me which was excellent. You will not be disappointed .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Noisy”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a family dinner at the second floor. Since the table by ours was very noisy, the first part of the dinner was miserable. The decoration is different. The waiters are interesting, working at the same place for so many years. We shared Filet Mignon and Prime New York Strip which were cooked OK. Side orders; carpaccio asparagus, goat cheese whipped potatoes were delicious.

The noisy atmosphere of the restaurant is unacceptable especially when it is a family dinner. As a result, I have to think twice before I make another reservation to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daysegul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the Original Palm”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

What a great place - full of character and history. The steaks are superb and the service a little brusk and masculine - at least you know your're in New York City. Still maintains its tradition with waiters that make the Palm their career. Iconic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peterharben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palm - NYC One also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing