We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for Hip Hop heads and tourists alike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hush Hip Hop Tours

Hush Hip Hop Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.98*
and up
New York Hip-Hop Tour
Ranked #43 of 594 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There is nowhere else you can rub shoulders with and listen to real insider stories from hip hop heavyweights and living legends like Grandmaster Caz, Kurtis Blow, Raheim of the Furious Five and Reggie Reg. …and what other experience gives you access to the secret sites that have played a critical role in shaping the hip hop culture? So, roll out with us. Other tour companies only show you the typical tourist-y spots and blindly pass over the rich, vibrant landmarks that give NYC its character. Our hip-hop tours are the best way for art and music lovers to visit sites you probably would have never visited on your own and experience sights, sounds and stories you won’t forget. Kick it with our crew and you won’t be disappointed. We’re all about preserving the roots of hip hop culture and that means sharing it with the world – and with people like you. For over a decade, we have been the leader in providing authentic insight into New York City and its impact on musical innovation. New York City is the undisputed Birthplace of Hip Hop culture and our tour guides are the originators! Let us show you the city’s hidden gems through the hip-hop lens.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A must for Hip Hop heads and tourists alike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I am a DJ, and my friend loves his breaking, so we I had an awesome day. The price was well worth the experience and the knowledge we learnt about hip hop culture and the city itself.

Even if you're not into your hip hop, this tour is still a great way to see the city and areas you may not ordinarily plan to visit.

Our tour guide, Grandmaster Caz, was informative, educational and entertaining from start to stop. The four hour tour in a luxury comfortable bus flew by.

The trip was professional organised from beginning to end, and was, for me, the highlight of my four day trip to NYC.

I highly recommend this tour, and when you go, you will, too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoundBookingsDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Director of Sales at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
SoundBookingsDJ,

Ecstatic to have been the highlight of your NYC trip. A DJ & b-boy, could not ask for two people more perfectly suited to get on the Hush bus! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    60
    10
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fantastic tour! Wasn't bored for a second”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Grandmaster Caz is funny, engaging, relatable, informative, and FAMOUS. He is clearly a born performer, but also managed to keep a great group dynamic showing sensitivity to the group's needs and making the trip a lot of fun. We learned so much about the history of hiphop in NYC and really felt the style and rhythm of the subculture. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BgirlRPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Director of Sales at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
BgirlRPP,

Now how could you ever be bored with a guy like Grandmaster Caz taking you through the city? Sounds like you had an amazing experience and would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund
1 review
“Harlem Bronx”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

It was one hell of an outsatnding tour and experience....one of the best days in our lives. Grandmaster Caz is probably one of the best entertainers I´ve come across....highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 19Frank71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Director of Sales at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
19Frank71,

Thank you for such a great review, we're glad to have made your experience one of the best of your life, hope you can make it back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
“A MUST DO if visiting NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was a part of a group of physicians(pediatrics, family,int. medicine) - interns that work in the Bronx (Montefiore) who took the tour on the last day of a social medicine month mentioned below. Many of us did not know much about Hip Hop or about its origins in NYC specifically in the "Boogie Down" Bronx and how it spread to neighboring burroughs such as in the Harlem neighborhood of Manhattan etc.
The tour was the best and most engaging tour I have ever been on. We had the opportunity to not only learn about breakdancing/breaking but we were also able to see a demonstration performed by bboy Floor Phantom and he even talk us through the "6 step." We even made a cypher, a circle where everyone was able to go out in the center and boogy down!
Our tour guide was PHENOMENAL. We were able to join him in some of the classic hip hop songs such as "the Message." We were able to joke and interact with him as if we had known him for years. Extremely knowledgable and it helped that he himself was a hip hop pioneer and grew up and lived in the areas that he showed us. He was a part of the growth and spread of hip hop.
We also learned about the other elements of hip hop - mc'ing(rapping), graffiti, and dj'ing. We were able to see some phenomenal art work although unfortunately the graffiti wall of fame was not included (bcs someone keeps painting over the graffiti).
Again a MUST do!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rahti2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Director of Sales at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
rahti2000,

Thank you for such a genuine and heartfelt review. So thrilled you had an amazing experience and were able to learn the in's and out's of REAL hip-hop culture. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York, United States
1 review
“Great group tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our group of 25 Bronx doctors loved the Hip Hop Tour of Manhattan and the Bronx.
Our group was mostly 20-something medical interns (in family medicine, pediatrics, and internal medicine) and 50-something me. We had just spent month learning about how social issues like racism, incarceration, and immigration effect the health of the Bronx, and this was a positive fun way to end this intense month.

This tour was a great way to enjoy the cultural richness of the Bronx (and Harlem), learning about the birth of hip hop and where many of the early DJs, MCs, and BBoys invented and honed this artform.

Grandmaster Caz was a great tour guide, an excellent story teller and group leader.
The music accompanying his stories kept things lively and entertaining, and it was great hearing then energy he brought to early classics including "Rapper's Delight" and "The Message", as well as Caz's "response" song, "MC Delight".

We were lucky that this is the 40th anniversary of the birth of hip hop, and enjoyed the graffiti-mural on the Grand Concourse.

The bus driver was very professional, and the B-Boy break dancer, Floor Phantom (apologies if spelling is wrong) busted great moves, led the whole group thru a bit of hip hop dancing, and had 8 brave members of our group try to learn breakdancing moves. Watching him break down and teach each move accentuated both the complexity and athleticism of the moves.

The company was very flexible working with us, changing the tour time to fit our groups schedule.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Director of Sales at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dan O,

What a wonderful response; I'm glad we were able to balance out many of the things you learned about the Bronx with some lighthearted, yet culturally fulfilling, fun. it is our constant goal to find a perfect balance between those two. Definitely come back for one of our other experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hush Hip Hop Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hush Hip Hop Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing