We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip Hop Walking Tour and Bus Tour were both great!”
Review of Hush Hip Hop Tours

Hush Hip Hop Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.98*
and up
New York Hip-Hop Tour
Ranked #43 of 607 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There is nowhere else you can rub shoulders with and listen to real insider stories from hip hop heavyweights and living legends like Grandmaster Caz, Kurtis Blow, Raheim of the Furious Five and Reggie Reg. …and what other experience gives you access to the secret sites that have played a critical role in shaping the hip hop culture? So, roll out with us. Other tour companies only show you the typical tourist-y spots and blindly pass over the rich, vibrant landmarks that give NYC its character. Our hip-hop tours are the best way for art and music lovers to visit sites you probably would have never visited on your own and experience sights, sounds and stories you won’t forget. Kick it with our crew and you won’t be disappointed. We’re all about preserving the roots of hip hop culture and that means sharing it with the world – and with people like you. For over a decade, we have been the leader in providing authentic insight into New York City and its impact on musical innovation. New York City is the undisputed Birthplace of Hip Hop culture and our tour guides are the originators! Let us show you the city’s hidden gems through the hip-hop lens.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hip Hop Walking Tour and Bus Tour were both great!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family enjoyed both the Dancer's Delight walking tour and the Birthplace of Hip Hop bus tour. The Dancer's Delight walking tour was a great way to see not only several important venues and neighbourhoods in the history of hip hop but also a way to explore areas of New York city by subway and on foot. And you will do alot of walking! But our guide, Mighty Mouse, kept it fun and upbeat with his explanations and stories as well as the great music he played along the way. He showed us locations where battles were held, the Graffiti Hall of Fame and taught us some bboy moves. There was lots of time to take pictures and Mouse was very knowledgeable and personable. The next day we did the Birthplace of Hip Hop Bus Tour with Grandmaster Caz and his crew. They were knowledgeable, funny and helpful. The bus was comfortable and air conditioned and they always made sure passengers were safe boarding and exiting the bus on busy streets. We went to the Museum of New York to see the graffiti exhibits and then outside Kid Glyde taught some breaking moves and we participated in a cypher. We saw many landmarks in Harlem and the Bronx and had lots of time to take pictures as well. It was a good experience for our teenagers to hear more about "old school" and the evolution of hip hop culture. We had a lunch stop at a soul food restaurant and it was delicious. You also had time to buy souvenirs then. The bus ride back was filled with videos, insightful stories and guests on the mic. Very interactive tour. My only recommendation would be to email in advance the meeting point and drop off locations so one can plan the rest of their day visiting New York City.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DinaMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
DinaMBS,

Thank you for the thorough review. Happy you enjoyed the interactive nature of the tour and will be sure to provide a bit more insight on the meeting location to future guests prior to the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    64
    11
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day with Hush Tours”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I took the Birthplace of Hip Hop tour which was an excellent way to tour parts of Harlem and the Bronx and get a first-hand account of the history of hip hop. Grandmaster Caz was a great guide: funny and engaging with fascinating stories to tell. Austin/RayZa was fantastic too. He kept us well organized and was very personable. Loved their rhymes! It was awesome to watch Kid Glyde break and I loved seeing the Graffiti Hall of Fame and all the sites along the way. it would have been fun to explore more of Harlem on foot but I'll have to return for that tour. The music kept us moving and this tour was well worth the money. Soul food at Manna's was delicious! Only downside - the group on this tour was kind of low energy which dampened the mood a bit and the A/C on the bus needed to be turned up. Really enjoyed the experience and will do another Hush tour when I'm back in NYC.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank seshepley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
seshepley,

Thank you for the response and sorry if you weren't part of one of our normally lively groups! Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Add history of hip hop+ architectural history interest + group interaction involvement + art + fun tour guide!!! Loved this tour :) Highly recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank heidi1happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Tara D,

Glad to hear you and your boyfriend had a good time! We love to show the locals around so be sure to do one of our other tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bomb Tour”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Me and My boyfriend recently took the Hip Hop tour I must say we had a great time. Grandmaster Caz and his crew were awesome. Their energy was great. Caz's knoweledge on hip hop was informative. Anyone who loves Hip Hop would love this tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Tara D,

Glad you and your boyfriend were able to enjoy the day with us. We love showing the locals around so be sure to do one of our other tours in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good tour for fans of hip hop music and culture”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I echo most of the comments made already. Let's start with the good bits - Grandmaster Caz was superb, he clearly knows his stuff and was very engaging. He was very ably assisted by Austin who is an enthusiastic and passionate young artist who took care of everyone well. It was great to get off the beaten track and see an equally famous side of NYC. The visit to the city Museum of NY was great to see an exhibit on graffiti, complete with breaking demonstration by J Mouse V.

Ok the downsides - tour started late due to some administrative issues but no big deal, the tour operators were apologetic. Lunch was too rushed - you need about an hour esp if it takes time to get served and sat down, as well as look at tour souvenirs. I agree with other comments about food quality and it wasn't the cheapest for what it was. Would have been good to have a bit more time at each stop to observe and take our own snaps. The tour bus was very clean and well kitted out but the AC needed to be turned on, very hot!

In all, this is a tour best suited for those with a passion for hip hop but be aware if you are a very hardcore connoisseur you might be let down by some elements as other reviewers have pointed out. It might also help to have an enthusiastic tour group who can share in creating energy and a good atmosphere. My group was nice but on the reserved side which I believe did make a difference to the overall experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Mal b,

Thank you for the thorough response. We appreciate the review, not only the positive bits but more importantly those that can help us perfect the craft in order to create the best experience possible. Would love to have you back next time you are stateside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hush Hip Hop Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hush Hip Hop Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing