We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royal Hotel & Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Royal Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #430 of 467 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderfull place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2006

We booked this hotel in december. I didn't read these reviews before booking. Afterwards I read all these bad reviews and I was sorry for booking such a place.
But... this isn't a bad hotel. You can not expect a 5 star luxury resort for this price. But I've stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and this one is really beautifull. Nice rooms, good bathroom, satellite tv,... Very friendly staff. I don't know why everybody says it is so bad, it totally isn't. I think other hotels pay to write bad reviews.
IT'S a really beautifull Hotel and I can recommend it to everyone.
So don't let the reviews stop you from going.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    8
    9
    36
See reviews for
1
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2006

I have no idea where the hotel got their pictures on their Web site because it was hardly what we thought we were getting ourslves into. It had a horrible smell, sheets were gross, no alarm clock, no phone, just a nightstand with a TV (no remote), no mirror, carpet was dirty, shared bathroom was nasty! Shower nozzles were coming out of the wall, the shower door didn't open or close all the way. I took a bunch of pictures. Take a look!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tsembrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2006

Arrived in middle of night so had to stay.

Room dirty, stained and used sheets, cold, really bad odour, broken lock on door, shared filthy toilet. Didnt even want to clean our teeth, had to get out a.s.a.p.

We were out at 7.30am to find somewhere else quickly.

Brochure says basic, but very overpriced for a hovel.

Keep away!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2006

We went there for one night and even this was to much. You have to go through the basement of the entrance to get to another house and thats where you "room" is. Ok, its a hostel so the rooms are not very large but this was realy small for two persons. A could turn around but thats it. The sheets of the beed were dirty as well. But the worst were the corridor and the bath room/toilett. It smelled like a public toilett which wasn't cleaned for weeks. I wouldn't have dared to take a shower in these bath room.
I have seen many hostels in many regions of the world but this was one of the scary ones. And considering whar you get for the money it isn't even cheap. Pay 20 bucks extra and you will find a much nicer hotel where you feel save and you can take a shower without the need to desinfect yourself afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pribislav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2006

well, first i give this "hotel" one "star" because it does not even deserve this one, but you can't give less then this.
i booked this room for 5 nights over new years eve and it was the cheapest place i could find in the whole web.
then i read all the horror reviews here and i prepared for the worst.
but what i found there wasn't even so bad, what i have expected.
o.k. the bathroom wasn't realy clean, but at leased i had clean sheets. the room was tiny and look like a prison cell. you have no room to place your stuff, but hey, it's new york and i was anyway only for sleepingin this room.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2006

after all the reviews i read i was really scared. but we found a nice hotel. the rooms/bathrooms were clean and our floor was very calm. you get what you pay for this category and its fair, the subway is around the corner and the surrounding is nice and safe. we enjoyed. don't trust this spoiled and world-innocent comments.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2005

Really, don't even think about staying here. The room was cold, the door didn't close fully, no mirrors anywhere (not in our room nor the dingy bathroom down the hall). I have NO idea where the hotel took the pictures that are readily available, it really does not look like that at all. Only stay if you like gray towels, hairy sheets, and sleeping in an inhospitable prison cell.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#424 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#399 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel & Hostel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel & Hostel
Address: 315 West 94th Street, New York City, NY 10025-6829
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Hotel Class:1 star — Mount Royal Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 268
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Hotel New York City
Mount Royal Hotel And Hostel
Mount Royal Hotel Hostel
Mount Royal New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing