We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food..lousy service”

Da Marino Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$18 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Broadway and 8th Avenue
Transit: N, R & W subway lines to 49th Street and C & E subway lines to 50th Street.
Description: Da Marino serves traditional authentic Italian cuisine featuring Chef Massimo's Northern Italian dishes and Chef Pasquale's Southern Italian cooking. Upon entering the restaurant you feel that you are in an old Italian villa overlooking the Mediterranean through balcony windows and terrace. The restaurant was created and designed by Chef Pasquale and painted by Italian artist Davide Rodoquino. We offer live piano music every evening.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food..lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were disappointed at the service..ordered a Cesear Salad..specified NO visible anchovies...when served, topped with A anchovies..plate practically thrown on table!
Crowded table seating..confusing service..nothing came as ordered. Pasta Figole Soup piping piping toooo hot! The Maître D recognized the issue and immediately resolved, very apologetic and accomodating. I will return to give it another chance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank diann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    304
    106
    59
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would have been 5* except for service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Food was delicious. Chocolate pasta was better than we could have imagined.... Meal would have been perfect if our waiter had gotten our meals correct 1st time around, brought the wine without being asked twice and been more on the ball in ensuring we had the check in tIme to get to the theatre. We had to not only chase him down to get the check, we had to get another waiter to help with taking payment. Strongly suggest you have nothing else to do so you can just sit back and enjoy the food.

Pianist was lovely

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Interesting small italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Was staying in the Crowne Plaza Times Square, slightly jet lagged so didn't want to travel far, Da Marino's was well placed being just around the corner from the hotel.

Actually does look like a typical Italian restaurant you'd find in a small Italian town, so quite charming from that perspective, actually looks out of place in the area, which is great, and an asset.

Long dark dining room, so probably good for couples for a romantic dinner, but still OK for lone business diners, and it does have a few genuine Italian American staff, although most of the rest are Indian.

Has a nice ambience, rustic pictures of Italian towns painted on the walls, and many celebrity photographs along the walls. Apparently the place was on Sex In the City, although being a straight man I wouldn't know.

and the service was very good, attentive without being overbearing, the staff seemed to know what they were doing, and didn't have the usual US problem of asking you if everything is OK every 2 seconds, so top points for that.

The do have a piano in the restaurant, but unfortunately it wasn't being played on the night I was there, shame, as that would have been a bonus.

Food was proper Italian, I had the Bean soup, followed by Prawns in a Brandy and cream sauce, and a nice bottle of Italian wine, it was all very very good, and very large portions, so can't fault it.

Well worth a visit if you are in the times square area, very different (better) than the usual chain franchised restaurants.

Not overly expensive for the area, about the same as an equivalent would cost in London.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

First visited 4 years ago and loved the place. Just returned for an anniversary and was very disappointed. Wait service was cold and the food was average at best. Maybe the most disappointing was the piano player. With all the musicians in NYC that was the best you could find? Oh, and the lady's restroom; instead of rose pedals there is now toilet paper on the floor. For us I guess the bloom is off the rose.

Helpful?
Thank Tomkenneyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“How to define "Off Broadway"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A quaint Italian trattoria in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Live piano music from Broadway showmen, homemade gourmet cuisine, and they make you feel like you are famiglia.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank freq-trvlr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Marino Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Da Marino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing